31 Mountain View, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm originally from San Diego and after a brief stay in LA, I moved to the bay area in 2008.
What I’m doing with my life
I have a couple degrees in mechanical engineering.

I try not to take life too seriously, but as far as my career is concerned, I have been successful and am quite responsible.

I have a job that I actually enjoy which is relevant to my degree, I've learned that this fact makes me at least moderately unusual. My Personality traits on here say I'm less ambitious, I completely disagree with this.

For fun, I like to go rock climbing and recently started to get into mountain biking. I enjoy track days on the motorcycle, and going for drives, but that doesn't happen to often
I’m really good at
Engineering related activities, I used to be good at soccer and volleyball, but my skills have definitely declined since high school. I used to surf quite a bit, but I never got past what I would call a beginner. The beaches up here are way too cold for my taste, so I haven't been surfing in a while, but I'm usually up for a trip to the coast.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm 6'5". Wouldn't that be the first thing you would notice about me?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Mostly indie rock, classic rock and alternative (i'm not always sure where the line is between different forms of rock) with some random things thrown in. In my high school days, i listed to rap/hip hop, but i very rarely listen to that now.

Some of my favorites are:
city of god, pans labyrinth, eternal sunshine, garden state, requiem for a dream, american beauty, donnie darko (I also like comedies, but not many of them tend to make as much of a lasting impression as these movies)

I can find food I enjoy just about everywhere but I wouldn't describe myself as a foodie. I don't like seafood or mushrooms (who wants to eat fungi), other than that, i'll eat most standard foods. I I eat a lot of Mexican food, pizza and sandwiches. I like Chinese and Indian quite a bit but don't get it all that often.

I am america and so can you (colbert), america the book (stewart), the hitchhikers guide to the galaxy, freakonomics, daemon, pretty much anything by Gladwell or Scalzi.
books i recently read and enjoyed include fuzzy nation, choke, what the dog saw, blink and the androids dream, so if you've recently read one of those, let me know what you thought.

breaking bad, dexter, doctor who, firefly, arrested development, battlestar galactica, psych, and many of the random comedies out there.
I got rid of cable a while ago, so most of my tv watching comes from the internet.

Podcasts (while not on the list, it should be):
this american life, wait wait dont tell me, radiolab, freakonomics radio, car talk, friday night comedy (bbc), savage lovecast, tech news today, planet money.
The six things I could never do without
In no particular order:
Transportation (car, motorcycle)
Phone (including GPS)
to be continued...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Work, life, time travel, you know, the usual things
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with friends, or in watching a movie
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I tend to have fairly liberal views:
I'm pro choice (there are already too many unwanted children on this planet, we don't need to force people to have children who don't want them)
For gay marriage (really now conservatives, how does two consenting adults getting married affect you?)
For a firm separation of church and state

I generally shower twice per day. This isn't really private, but some people tell me it's weird. I just like to be clean. Sorry environment.
You should message me if
You share any of my interests.
You should be fairly local to Mountain View, if you're more than 30 minutes away, dating will be difficult.
Oh, and if you're too busy to spend more than 3 or 4 days with me a month, I'll get bored pretty quickly.

Ideally, you have at least a 4 year degree, you're financially independent from your parents, you don't (or rarely) do drugs and you're reasonably physically and emotionally healthy.