42Willington, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm quite independent (but loyal and affectionate to those I care about), honest, intelligent and somewhat tangential. In general I like the quiet life... but y'know, not TOO quiet. Everything in life is a juggling act, so juggle as best you can. I get on well with people who like the countryside, enjoy a joke, know how to relax, aren't pretentious, and who have a great sense of the absurd.

My family background is a mixture of Irish and Sussex, which implies a degree of contrariness coupled with extreme intransigence when challenged. This is fair enough - sometimes stereotypes exist for a reason. I'm a caring sort of chap but with a quick sense of humour, and I do like a good pseudo-intellectual "debate" (i.e. mock OTT arguement) over a pint. Irony, sarcasm, overkill and underkill are all welcomed here.

I'm not ambitious in a conventional sense. I'm Director of my own firm, but that's not to make a mint at everyone else's expense. I like to steer things in the right direction for the greater common good whenever I can. Sometimes I have to travel a lot, or stay away for prolonged periods. It's nice to explore new places but it's always nice to get back home. Absence makes the heart grow fonder.

I enjoy dining out, watching movies, driving cars, narrowboating, cycling, going to gigs and firing steam locomotives. Those who think this all sounds rather too masculine should be pleased to note that I have no interest whatsoever in watching sports. I can snuggle AND I can rock, and I'd like to meet someone who can appreciate and share in both.

I am unconventional, stoical, and 30-something.
What I’m doing with my life
Given the choice, I'm to be found living on my beautiful 40' trad narrowboat normally moored in the Willington area, just outside Derby. However I work as a Consultant and this means going wherever the work is. I might be staying in the family home in Sussex (my 'official' address) if working in the South East, or I might be stuck in a hotel somewhere, in the UK or abroad. Annoyingly for some, my stock answer to most lifestyle questions is "Well, it depends...".

I do a fair amount of voluntary work at the weekends, when that's possible, and if the sun is shining I like to be out on my boat. I do keep myself quite busy and I'm not looking for a 24/7 relationship as such, though I know these things have a habit of changing over time. I know I'm happiest with a certain amount of variety and independence in my life, but at the same time too much freedom can be disorientating . At the risk of repetition, it's all about balance.

*ADDENDUM* I have changed some of my details recently, so here's a little summary of the whys and wherefores.

Ok Cupid doesn't understand that I don't permanently live in Sussex any more, either that or it just doesn't understand the geography of the UK. My search results bear no relation to reality when it comes to distances from other OkC users; the site thinks people miles away are on my doorstep, but hides the people who ARE on my doorstep until I find them by accident through random surfing. I have no idea where it shows me to be in other people's search results, but please bear in mind it could be miles out.

I've quit smoking. This has resulted in a little weight gain, however I'm still slimmer than most of the photos show (they're mainly about 2 years old now).

It's fair to say that I find delight in good food, and I'd like to find someone who enjoys eating well. That means trying different flavours and enjoying the whole experience of eating out (or cooking and eating in), rather than simply scavenging desperately for calories. If you don't know the difference we're probably not suited.

I've always been into 'alternative' stuff and been a bit subversive, however I preferred to hide this behind a slightly geeky but to all intents and purposes normal exterior. Well I'm bored of that now, so the whole retro / steampunk / rock / indie side of me is coming out. Yup, I'm getting tattooed. So far I've had about 12 hours work on my left arm and it's looking great.

My little car collection continues to evolve, like any petrolhead's should. At the moment there's a Honda Legend, a Honda S2000 and a very low mileage, timewarp Alfa 33. You don't have to understand the appeal, but it might help.

Lastly, having never really wanted kids I now suddenly find myself at the stage where all babies are simply adorable. It doesn't seem to be a rational thing, more of a gut instinct. So I'm a lot more open to the idea of being a Dad with the right partner, though I still wouldn't regard it as essential. Just a nice "maybe".
I’m really good at
Thinking things over.

Persuading people, against their better judgement, to buy Alfa Romeos.

Creating indie / alternative rock CDs.
The first things people usually notice about me
It depends on the circumstances, really, doesn't it?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favourite author is currently Jasper Fforde, favourite film Twelve Monkeys, favourite wine Rioja :o)

I'm a sucker for Pixar-style animation, because I am a big kid.

I love alternative rock music and most of the sub-genres it incorporates: baggy, britpop, grunge, trip hop, shoegazer, emo, stoner rock and so on. Anything with guitars and some attitude. "Going Blank Again" by Ride is probably my favourite album of all time. I also have a thing for knowingly ironic, redneck heavy rock and metal bands, from the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion to Clutch, Wo Fat, Red Fang and Scissorfight. Check out the Red Fang videos for "Wires" or "Hank is Dead" on YouTube for a good introduction to this particular musical backwater.

There are too many nice foods to narrow it down to just one, though a good cheese omlette is close to perfection. Why over-complicate things? Oh, and I've got a thing for Gordal olives. Sorry.

I love driving and have owned fifteen cars in the last eighteen years, including five Alfa Romeos and a Maserati. I also enjoy firing steam trains in Sussex, Staffordshire and Falkirk, and playing with narrowboats around the inland waterway network. Please note that I enjoy USING all these mechanical things, rather than lying around in the dirt fixing them. It's purely a horsepower thing.
Six things I could never do without
The Countryside.
A means of transport.
A nice cup of tea
(decaff, soya milk, fruit sugar. Yes, I am awkward).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
"Far away is close at hand, in images of elsewhere"
On a typical Friday night I am
as Descartes almost said.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
is that I'm quite shy, really, but I hide it well.

Oh, and I know the photos are rubbish. Might get round to changing them one day...
You should message me if
anything here has made you smile, or nod your head in recognition....... though preferably not against anything solid.
The two of us