36Burlingame, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Proud geek. I'm grad studenting in computer science at Cal State East Bay. Stay at home fathersizing at home. And new wordifying whenever I get the chance. I <3 the internet and use it to sneak in checks on my favorite blogs and the multitude of friends I've collected over the years. <:Insert witty story here:>. Ha ha, that was great.

Watch out though, I worship the God-that-I-don't-believe-in of Hilarity. If something funny is dying to be said, I will say it, often at extraordinary costs to myself.

I am capricious, anarchic, and callipygian
What I’m doing with my life
being pretty happy about it at the moment. Economics is where my baccalaureate work went and I finished that at SDSU a while ago. Then I spent a few years doing the finance thing at a small bank. Now days I'm spending a lot of time at home with my boy and watching him grow up right in front of my eyes. I'm so lucky that I get to do that, and I really think that more guys should jump at the chance to do it. When I'm not doing that I'm with my second love: computer science. Addendum: I got work!
I’m really good at
Not doing stuff that I'm interested in doing. I've put off on learning shorthand for about 6 years now(I've picked up a few forms and use them regularly when taking notes. It's way disappointing to be in the middle of a midterm and realize that you have to write out certain words the long way). I would like to start tinkering with making neat stuff, like a north belt(I purchased a kit to build a similar device and recently cut my chops on soldering to assemble it. Way fun.). I once studied speed reading, but have managed not to keep up on practice (update: I'm just reading more now and it helps). Always thought it would be awesome to keep a journal, but specifically a recounting of everything I remember from dreams the night before. Part of keeping myself motivated is surrounding myself with other people interested in doing the same.

Really though, I'm pretty good at keeping a conversation going. And not half bad at having a good time. The secret to life is wringing the sponge of opportunity.
The first things people usually notice about me
The way I look. Or in your case, the way I write.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I've recently really enjoyed Karl Schroeder's Virga series of sci-fi. I'm finally really starting to read, and there's so much catching up to do.

Movies: The Red Violin, Secretary, Fight Club, Nightmare Before Christmas, Battle Royal, Bonfire of the Vanities, Super Troopers

Music: Alternative, Punk, Metal, Techno, Classical, Jazz, although I find my Pandora station at work is permanently stuck between my chiptune and dub-step channels.

Food: Tapas, BBQ, various Asian cuisine, and other stuff too!
Six things I could never do without
Basic Necessities- Food, water, shelter... A jedi seeks not these things, but I do.

Mental Stimulation- Without which I can actually feel myself endumbening.

Adventure- Half the fun is exploring and widening the breadth of experience and ability.

My Compatriots- Nothing like a healthy circle of friends to augment your perception of the world and generally make life what it can be.

Electronics- It makes me sane to have a computer to program on and a TV to Wii with.

The Internets- Tubes are my lifeline to the rest of the world while I'm spending so much time at home studying and fathering.

::secretly, I could probably get along without any of the above. Well, maybe not air and food. Family is pretty important as well.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Things I want. Like north-belts, sexier blindfolds with flat screens on the inside of them. What I'd do if ridiculous amounts of money suddenly became mine. That's one of my favorite games, I'd seriously go about making a steampunk airship, directly out of the early Final Fantasy series. Unleash a series of non-profit creations for my own entertainment, like a mash-up of Google Maps with the Wikipedia Wikispecies project, or dictionary of life so anyone could type in their address and get a list of native species for their gardens and such.
On a typical Friday night I am
Not really a typical Friday night anymore. I may be out with friends or in with a book. Maybe some homework, or getting to bed early for a bike ride in the morning.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I used to make full lunches of Costco samples. I went so often that teams of us developed tactics for more fulfilling eating. I brought the ladies working there Mother's Day cards. And, when I go back down to San Diego to visit my old college friends I can't not stop by to say hello to the women that are still working there.
You should message me if
You are interested in any of the projects I mentioned that I'm not following through on in the "I'm really good at" section. Things are easier to tackle with a partner, like going to the gym.

Contact me if you would like to spend time together enjoying what's out there. I also am terrible at dancing as I am (three strikes) tall, white, and straight, but if you would like to take me out to teach me I would like that. Be warned I will embarrass you, I say terrible for a reason.
The two of us