SAPI3NS
28 Sacramento, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
SAPI3NS
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My name's Eduardo, but you can call me Edu.

I grew up in a really poor neighborhood in Puerto Rico. Through a lot of struggle and with the guidance of great mentors along the way, I've been able to set my goals high, pursue them, and (so far) accomplish them.

Six years ago, I became the first person in my family to leave Puerto Rico when I started my Ph.D. at Stanford. It took a lot of courage to face the unknown, leaving everything and everyone I knew behind. It hasn't been easy. The culture shock was rough, and expectations were high, but I've adjusted very well ever since, I've done a lot of personal and professional growth, and I've come to love the man I'm becoming.

My experiences during graduate school ignited a passion for public service and leadership in me. I'm trying to take my scientific and critical thinking skills into a career in public policy. I'll be moving to Sacramento in September where I just accepted a position as a scientific advisor to the State Senate. I feel very proud of the world I've started creating for myself. Sharing that world with someone I love would be nice, especially if we can help each other reach our full potential.

Yes, I'm fiercely independent, resilient, ambitious, and proud; I've had to be. I can be a handful. But I think you'll find that I'm also one of the warmest, most caring, compassionate and supportive people you'll ever meet.

If you're interested, say hi! Believe it or not, meaningful interaction is actually possible on here. Let's go somewhere together, and I'll give you a reason to let go of your cynicism.

Looking forward to meeting you,

Edu
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to finish my Ph.D. Writing my thesis at the moment.

Aiming at a career in science and technology policy/politics

Tutoring/teaching for some extra cash

LGBT student leader

Tenor in the San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus

I like stand-up, improv, and singing. I love entertaining people.

I like organizing volunteering trips to the city

Making crappy art with crap I'd otherwise throw away

Teaching myself new skills and learning about new subjects.

Trying to get back in shape. Hopefully I'll be done before I buy fancy new suits for the new job.
I’m really good at
Molecular biology/Embryology

Teaching

Public speaking

Leadership/Community engagement

Singing

Self-instruction
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Can't pick favorites, so I'll just tell you what I'm enjoying right now:

Books:
"The Social Contract", by Jean Jacques Rousseau
"The Plague", by Albert Camus
"The New Jim Crow", by Michelle Alexander
"A Report on the Banality of Evil", by Hannah Arendt

Shows:
House of Cards, Veep, Archer, The Legend of Korra, Ru Paul's Drag Race

Music:
Classical, Jazz, and classics from the 50s and 60s (think Billie Holiday, Fitzgerald, etc.)

Food:
There's this Burmese place in Palo Alto I'm obsessed with right now.
The six things I could never do without
In no particular order:

1. My ability to see beauty in unexpected places
2. Comedy
3. Supportive friends
4. Knowledge
5. A good book and a glass of Riesling
6. Good food
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to improve myself. Whether I'm living virtuously.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either at lab, in bed watching Netflix, pretentiously reading a book at a wine bar, practicing with my guitar, or out dancing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I prefer dating one person at a time. If I give someone chance at romance, I give them my full consideration. I'll be assertive about the things I need and flexible with the things you need, but I won't make you compete with other men for my attention while I'm considering you. I don't like juggling emotions for several men simultaneously; I don't have the time or the bandwidth. If I don't think we're a match, I'll let you know as soon as I feel that way. Honesty is the key to dating me.
You should message me if
You're an honest, compassionate, confident, funny and sexy gay man looking for something fun and meaningful. I don't measure success in dollars and cents, so I really don't care where you went to school, where you work, or how many figures are in your salary. As long as you have a dream you're striving towards, and you're self-sufficient, you're good to go.
More