36Abingdon, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
It's time for a revamp!! It's been a long time since I wrote the last self summary and it's probably really inaccurate now. Just for the record (because OKCupid never tells you), I wrote this new summary at the end of October 2008 :)

Well I'm living in Coventry and I love it. The city is great, loads of great things to do. I particularly like films/movies so having a really good Odeon near me is excellent. Plus there's Ikea, who can resist their great deals? Whoops, this is turning into a description of Coventry.

I am an avid Macintosh user; I love their designs, I love their computers, I love their OS X, they're virus free and their software rocks. If you've deduced from these comments that I'm a bit of a geek give yourself a pat on the back!

I love cycling just for fun sometimes; though often to get somewhere or do something. I wish I could cycle to work, but it's unfortunately 17 miles away and it would take too long. I sleep in most mornings because I just don't function that early. I tend to arrive late for work, but stay on late too; which is fine because work is University and they don't care which hours you do as long as you do them :)

Most recently I've become obsessed with geocaching. This is the use of a GPS to find hidden boxes which contain bric-a-brac type items and a log book. It's not the "treasure" I'm interested in; I want to find them for their locations!! I love finding out interesting things and finding interesting areas, and the whole point is that the caches are hidden in places just like that!! I'm loving it, and it gets me out of the house of course ;)

I have a Panther Black Fiesta which I love. It's not been my best car, but it's a MK6 which means it's a fairly new look and I love the aggressive streak they've put into them.

I love non-fiction books, large cities, holidays to built up places, communication with friends, puzzle games, challenges and most types of music. My favourite genre of music is UK Garage, but only the old school stuff. The new stuff has the naffest bassline and my brother has a theory that it's to suit mobile phones which are rubbish with bass.

A year ago I became a member of British Mensa. Not sure I've used that to my best ability yet as I want to do more socialising with Mensans but I've had good and bad experiences with other members. Some are really nice down to Earth people (like me I hope) and some are surgically attached to their high horse and unable to realise they're not automatically above others. I try to avoid the latter ;)

I am Dedicated, Trustworthy, and Intelligent
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a PhD student at Warwick University, studying Systems Biology.

I never expected to go as far as a PhD. I always assumed it was for people far cleverer than me. It's not actually as difficult as it sounds to be perfectly honest. All it requires is that you are dedicated to a specific area of your chosen subject and that you focus right down on something new in that area for three years; submitting a huge report at the end. I suspect that most people could do it as long as they choose the right subject.

My particular field of expertise (in case you're now wondering) is the study of gene networks and their interactions during the process of senescence in Arabidopsis thaliana. I have a huge dataset from microarrays performed on samples of leaves from Arabidopsis during a timecourse which covers the degradation of the plant material. These allow me to see how the genes have changes in expression over time and I'm currently working on finding the links between them. I hope to find out which genes are responsible for senescence and prove my findings in a laboratory environment.

If you understood any of that, congratulations. If you didn't, just remember you know loads of stuff I don't understand too ;)

I intend to go into a career of writing software for a biological purpose. I have enjoyed those aspects of my PhD so far and have always had a desire to write software. This gives me focus and lets me help people achieve what was only theoretical before they came to me.
I’m really good at
Impersonating Scooby Doo's laugh -- it's uncanny; trust me :)

Programming -- but that's not very exciting is it?

Fixing computers -- so good in fact that they pay me to do it at the University

Making people feel better with a hug, some listening and if they want it, some advice. I don't expect people to follow my advice as I don't often follow other people's, but I like to know that they don't have to feel without any idea of what to do next at all. I'm sure that in some way my advice influences the final decision of the recipient, so it's never wasted.
The first things people usually notice about me
My height. The fact that I'm shy with people I don't know until I gain the confidence to open up. That I listen intently to what people have to say; it can really help when working out what sort of person they are. That I have no fashion sense whatsoever should probably also be here ;)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
A. Factual ones, I hate fiction. Which is funny because I usually go for women who love fiction books :P

B. Action, Horror and Comedy mostly. I recently saw Collateral for the first time and thought it was great!

C. There's hardly anything I dislike (except heavy metal and hard rock), but my favs are Drum & Bass, Garage, Funky House, Funk and R&B I guess

D. My favourite food is probably meat in general. I could never be vegetarian purely because I love the taste of meat too much. Recently I've taken to steaming fresh veg instead of just using frozen or canned stuff. It tastes so much better that way!! I like to get my 5 a day if possible.
Six things I could never do without
Oxygen, Carbon, Hydrogen, Calcium, Sodium and Iron to name but a few.

Seriously though:

* friendship
* good food
* my iPhone
* my family
* intelligence
* something to actually think about/do

(not necessarily in that order)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where the money will next come from: I'm not obsessed, but I like to know how much I can afford until I next get a lump sum from somewhere.

How I can procrastinate just a little more before working on the to-do list.
On a typical Friday night I am
Pessimistically: Doing research or catching up on washing etc.

Realistically: Enjoying a couple of drinks; maybe round a mates house playing Mario Kart Wii

Preferentially: In a night club dancing and drinking the weekend in :) I think most would want this though.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a huge ... no, most men lie about this ;)

Get to know me better and I'm sure you'll ease some interesting facts out of me ...
You should message me if
You enjoy intelligent and interesting conversation.
You want to know me better.

Basically I'd love to hear from more people and will always reply. Be warned though, my messages tend to be lengthy so I hope your inbox can take it ;)
The two of us