SFJacob
66 Napa, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
SFJacob
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Joyfully, I am seeing someone now. I want to give it time and see where things go!

I enjoy wit, repartee and humor. Humor-wise, I tend toward the self-deprecating, the deadpan and the ironic. If you laugh a lot, and without much provocation, I will be George to your Gracie.

I love Israel and am concerned for her welfare. I am a member of several organizations whose goals are to foster a strong United States/Israel alliance. I visit Israel at least once a year and volunteer on IDF bases packing medical supplies for Israel's worldwide responses to natural disasters. I have considered Aliyah. I have many relatives living there. Participating in Jewish community events and organizations is important to me, as is being a synagogue member.

I retired in 2015, sold my home in San Francisco (where I had lived since 1972), and moved to Napa. I am financially solvent, own my home and I live within my means. Responsible, yes. Boring, no.

I have done extensive genealogies for many branches of my family. I find it very satisfying to know something about my ancestors and to find relatives from the current generation, even if they’re not always happy to hear from me. I have written a narrative history of my family based on my research. Doing so has given me a new appreciation for what many family members experienced, both here and in the old country. It has also given me a new appreciation for my country and how special it is to be an American.

I love the wilderness and try to backpack 2 or 3 times a year. The world looks so much different when you travel at 2 miles-per-hour rather than at 80. There’s so much more time for relaxed introspection and a closer examination of the natural and psychic world. I also enjoy week-end getaways, day hikes and just driving to someplace new.

Life for me does not have to be about one high adventure after another. Sometimes I am happy walking in a park or along the ocean, or taking a book and a water-bottle and exploring a new neighborhood. I am often happy being a homebody. It would be good to share life's experiences with someone. I would like to meet new people and make new friends.

Culturally, I am a bit anachronistic. The dominant cultural milieu I was raised in was ‘60s rock and roll, the Beetles and the Rolling Stones, but I prefer classical, the great pop artists of the ‘50s, big bands, jazz and folk music, especially Yiddish, Klezmer and bluegrass. I enjoy films, but avoid those with gratuitous violence. I love to dance, mostly swing, ballroom and square dancing. I play accordion (polkas not included) and read music. It would be wonderful if you played an instrument too. I enjoy plays, love musicals and have always had an interest in photography. My reading taste runs to non-fiction (history and biography), Commentary Magazine and Joseph Epstein essays.

I follow political issues and I am interested in local, national and world events. I am conservative politically and on social issues I am libertarian. We do not have to agree on everything. No two people ever do.

I am a good listener, I do not criticize people (at least not inordinately) and I do not try to fix every problem, although I am handy fixing things around the house.

I have two wonderful adult children who live on their own. Fortunately, they live nearby so we get to see each other. I have no grandchildren (it's great if you do--I love kids), but hope springs eternal.
What I’m doing with my life
I would love to have some romance in my life and I would welcome the opportunity to share activities with someone. I am open to whatever direction things take.

I would love to be with a woman who has a Jewish soul and who sees the world through humor, laughter and irony. Someone quick to laugh, quick to forgive, with a generous heart and spirit. Someone comfortable in a synagogue who sees as important being part of the Jewish community. Someone who loves the outdoors.

No one is perfect and the ideal does not exist. So let's connect and see what happens. Maybe a first date will not lead to a second, and that's OK too. I welcome the opportunity to meet new people and make new connections.
The six things I could never do without
Things I Would Not Want to Be Without:
Love. Family. Friends. Wilderness. Coffee. The ocean. Books. Music. Ideas. Being part of the Jewish community. Dancing.
On a typical Friday night I am
I usually go to the synagogue on Friday evenings. I’ve been to bars on many a Friday night over the years. Now I want something else: to experience a bit of eternity and to be connected to something larger than myself.
On Saturday night I might go to a dance or to a movie or get together with a friend.
More