SailSkate
44 Somerville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
SailSkate
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm friendly, active and sometimes funny. I'm from Virginia, via Upstate New York, an even mix of northern progressive and southern warmth. I'm an idealist at heart.

I love the seasons and like being active year-round; as sailing season ends, I put away my life jacket and take out skates, stick and puck! I'm really happy to have great friends who enjoy both activities.

A few other snapshots about myself:
• I'm generally curious about most things.
• I enjoy exercise: running, swimming, cross-country skiing, rock climbing.
• I miss the mid-afternoon half-hour summer thunderstorms in hot, humid Virginia.
• I don't remember jokes, but I'm quick on my feet at finding humor in the moment.

INFJ/INTJ if you're into Meyers-Briggs.
What I’m doing with my life
Taking the scenic route. I'm an architect and entrepreneur, building my own architectural design practice and learning a lot about running a small business. I'm also connected with a research group looking at cities from a scientific perspective.
I’m really good at
Starting up a spontaneous ice cream party at Trader Joe's (yes, this happened, and it was great!). Being a thoughtful conversationalist. Skating. Getting around by bike. Getting around by public transit in foreign cities. Kicking butt in Pictionary. And sometimes uprighting a small capsized boat when I need to.
The first things people usually notice about me
My radiant smile. Or that I'm wearing my bike helmet indoors, with the bikelight still blinking.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Shows: I haven't had a TV for years--for the most part, I'd rather be out doing stuff. But I listen to radio (NPR Morning Edition, On Point, Fresh Air), and I watch the Daily Show online. The new Battlestar Galactica. The Moth Radio Hour (seen it live a few times recently).

Books: Right now, I'm reading Re-work.

Movies: Another Earth, Gravity, Children of Men. Pond Hockey (a documentary). I tend to like movies that are beautifully filmed, like The New World.

Music: Tracy Chapman, October Project. Everything but the Girl. Dire Straits. Lately, listening to some old Fleetwood Mac.

Food: Lately, I've been looking for a good fish taco.
The six things I could never do without
Sailing, being by water
Skating and hockey
A spot of sunlight
Morning coffee
Funny people
My Mac
I spend a lot of time thinking about
After sailing all day, sometimes I lie in bed and can still feel the motion of the water.

Cities.

Social equity.
On a typical Friday night I am
During sailing season, sometimes, I try to get down for the Friday informal racing at my sailing club or just to say hi to friends on the dock and go to dinner and drinks. Sometimes, I'm just keeping it low key at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I shower in the nude.

I'll give you two. I was a fat kid in 4th grade and used to come in second-to-last in the 400-yard dash. Still friends with Mike, who came in last!
You should message me if
Send me a note if:
• You're active, funny and have a positive outlook.
• You're generally thoughtful and considerate.
• You're looking for a great long-term connection and think we might get along.

Or if you know where to find a good fish taco!
More