63Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was a seeker in my early years but seem to have found enough of who I am and what the world is about that I don't do that as much as I used to. I am some kind of blend of scientist and artist. Since my kids were born -- they are in 9th and 11th grade -- art has gotten the short shrift.

I'm a Dad. My kids are very very important to me. I've wanted kids since I was young, they came late in life, and I am so very grateful.

Doing things together is my preferred way of being -- sailing, cooking, sitting on a couch together reading or snuggling, hiking, or most any kind of exercise. Some things can't be done together and differing interests sometimes don't allow doing things together but if we can, I'd like to. If you know of the 5 Love Languages book, I have two: physical touch and quality time.

I like my work because I have enjoyable customers and since I am self-employed, I have some flexibility in my schedule.
What I’m doing with my life
I am a self-employed IT consultant. I work part time so that I can be home with my kids when I have them. I am working on a Master's Degree in Mathematics. Right now I'm doing it for intellectual stimulation but I'll be open to working in that area after my degree.

Trying to get enough sleep, exercise, and eat healthily. And, I'm here trying to figure out how to meet compatible women.
I’m really good at
Understanding people, math, sailing, playing board games, affection, being a Dad, cooking, and photography.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm quiet in most new situations. If there is something else, I don't know because I haven't asked anyone.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Most any kind of ethnic food. I like spicy. My two most eaten ethnic foods are Mexican and Sushi. Movies: some old favorites are Harold and Maude and Apocalypse Now. Used to be a Bergman lover but haven't seen one in a long time. Love movies except for horror.

Music: most everything except some country. These days listening to old rock: Grateful Dead, Stones, Talking Heads, or contemporary Celtic music. Love Willie and Lobo -- they call their music Gypsy Boogaloo -- one guitar and one violin.

Love books. I predominately read Science Fiction and secondarily mysteries. Love the Tony Hillerman mystery series. Used to read self help but it's probably been 15 years since I did that regularly. I also read recreational Math and Physics books. Loved Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.
Six things I could never do without
My kids, affection, contact with others, something intellectually engaging to think or talk about, the water (looking at it or swimming or sailing), and self-care (enough sleep and exercise.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to be a good Dad. How much energy to put into dating. Math problems -- taking upper level Math class right now. Why even though I know I need 8 hours of sleep and need to go to bed by 10, lots of times I don't.
On a typical Friday night I am
I might be: practicing Aikido, at home reading, or watching a movie out or at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm don't consider that much private so this is hard. Ask and I'll answer.
You should message me if
You consider yourself warm, affectionate, and smart, and you exercise regularly.
The two of us