30 Stanford, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’m a California girl, born in the Bay Area, though I went away for college and now am back here for graduate school. I do bio research for a living and spend most of my time in lab, working on my thesis and trying to figure out a way to graduate as soon as possible.

But to get to the more interesting stuff about me:

I’m pretty ridiculous and irreverent on the inside, but I think I hide it well. It comes out after a few beers though.

I always try to hold myself with confidence, but generally I believe in a sort of ‘speak-softly-but-carry-a-big-stick’ mentality and I dislike being the center of attention in large groups.

My jokes are usually subtle and a little absurd, which means that often I just get weird looks when I try to kid around but usually that just makes it more amusing (at least to me). I'm also not a fan at laughing at someone else’s expense unless they’re right there and in on it.

I go through fluctuating phases of health fanaticism and self-indulgent hedonism. I'm trying to fix this.

I’m not religious but I am highly moral – and I think that many of the world’s problems arise from confusing those two things.

I love a good beer as much as a good book (or the two at once would be even better!) and the perfect Saturday afternoon for me involves nature and company.

I'm kind of a huge nerd. Like epic level. The world is just such an amazing and surprising place, how could you not get excited about it?!

I adore my friends. They are the most awesome people and I’m lucky to get to spend time with them. Just please don’t tell them I said that.

I guess generally I'd say I’m a normal, genuine, balanced person who is interested in finding someone to share a lot of belly laughs with and who I am excited to come home to at the end of the day.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a graduate student at Stanford doing research about the molecular and genetic modifications underlying the evolution of the human face, brain and vocal apparatus.
I’m really good at
Puns, analytical thinking, painting, cooking delicious food, finding something to do last minute.
The first things people usually notice about me
My sense of humor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Lolita, The Sun Also Rises, Beloved, Wallace Steven's Collected Poems, Everything is Illuminated, Heart of Darkness, the Harry Potter series.... apparently I stopped reading in high school.

Shows: Mad Men, Planet Earth, Archer, Downton Abbey, 30 Rock, Game of Thrones, South Park, The League

Music: The Shins, Josh Ritter, Bon Iver, Margot and the Nuclear So & Sos, Iron & Wine, Pixies, Debussy

Food: yes.
The six things I could never do without
My fabulous friends and family, outdoor adventures, interpretable science, NPR and nature documentaries, sleeeeeeeep (and great coffee), lazy Sunday mornings
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What the moral thing to do is, how to handle myself with grace, when I can next take my shoes off, how to finally graduate, chromatin and chimpanzees, what's for dinner tonight
On a typical Friday night I am
With friends at a bar, occasionally at a party or football game, or more often at home hanging out with my family and enjoying a good home-cooked meal.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm new to this online dating thing and I've spent a little more time tinkering around with my profile than I'd like to admit.

Also, I still really love dead baby jokes - they are horrible and I will probably burn for it, but I can't help it.