41Boulder, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Shaka Keita is the name my village gave me during my Peace Corps service in Mali, West Africa.

I'm originally from the state of Washington, now living in beautiful sunny Boulder. Some of my favorite pastimes are soaking up the sun on a stroll down Pearl Street, having a pint at a local brew pub, hiking the many trails around the city or biking its many paths. I also love to venture up into the hills for longer camping excursions. I am in my element in nature coveting its peace and serenity.

I am a mellow laid-back guy who is known to exhibit bursts of zany/wacky energy. I am reflective, thoughtful, imaginative and idealistic with a healthily dose of realism to balance me. I like to understand what makes things tick whether it be massive ecological/social/economical systems or the person sitting in front of me.

You can find me...

Outdoor Adventure:

Dodging lightning bolts scurrying across majestic mountain tops under a full hail storm.

Navigating by map and compass high up top breathtaking alpine hill sides of endless fields of willow and rock.

Bike-touring through Poudre Canyon back country roads in 6 inches of snow due to a fluke storm.

Soaking in Conundrum hot springs under a night sky full of stars.

Breathing in the thick air of the lush tropical forests of Corcovado National Park, from a deck chair of Sierra Ranger Station, hearing the howler monkeys off in the distance, Osa Peninsula, Costa Rica.

Hiking all through the night to summit Volcano Baru in time to watch the beautiful sunrise and then being denied the views of both the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans due to cloudy overcast, Panama

My Peace Corps Experience:
“A slower pace of life…”

Traveling from my village to the capital on the hot dusty plains of Mali, always turns into an epic journey. I remember the impromptu friends made at villages along the way as we waited for transportation to be fixed, after yet another break-down, or the countless starry nights traveling high up top open cargo trucks. The laughter and continuity of the people still remain strong with me.

Fond memories of village family and friends drinking tea by the moon light and telling the same old jokes over and over again and it never getting old.

Bringing a woman to tears with laughter by my silly American antics.

Urban Adventure:

Offering time up volunteering for the numerous sustainable/green non-profits doing amazing work.

Sampling some of the finest beers in all of Colorado right here in Boulder.

Pouring beer at the Great American Beer Festival and feeling a part of a greater community of beer enthusiasts.

Parading down the Boulder Creek path, a chain of bikes and trailers, moving all my stuff by bike to my new apartment. I do most everything by bike as I don’t own a car.

My introduction to Boulder was through the Conference of Sustainable Resources as a volunteer where I met amazing people from all over the world doing their part to better it. One of the few times I felt a part of a global community.

Working alongside some of the greatest caring souls in the Americorps rebuilding East Biloxi after Hurricane Katrina.
What I’m doing with my life
I am enjoying the outdoors as much as I can, planning adventures and enlisting others to participate. Being in nature has always been a large part of who I am. I love backpacking, hiking, cycling and skiing. I try to push my physical endurance to feel more present, alive and connected.

My experience living abroad in the Peace Corps, has brought me to question what is truly valuable, to simplify my life and live within modest means, allowing myself to be more present and enjoy life fuller. I experienced true community among my village in Mali, and I have been pursuing it ever sense I returned – trying to find that sense of connection.

When I am not in the hills or abroad, I am connecting with friends in town sharing laughs and a few beers.

I had worked in the solar industry applying my skills in sustainable architectural design, but now work for my friend's nonprofit organization, eGo CarShare.

I am plotting my next course to return to school for a Masters in Applied Anthropology.
I’m really good at
I have great patience and compassion for others, and appreciate taking life slowly. being friends: being there, brewing beer ;) listening and understanding.... and most importantly, dancing in funky clothes! yeah.
The first things people usually notice about me
My peaceful disposition
Insatiable curiosity
Big blue eyes
Easy-going smile
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Some good reads: “Tao of Physics”, “The Big Box Swindle”, “Fast Food Nation”, “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance”, “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas”, “Train Spotting”, “Mystery of Capitalism”.

Some favorite flicks: “Moon”, “The Big Lebowski”, “Matrix” (the 1st one), “Let the Right One In”, “Up in the Air”, “There Will be Blood”, “Get Low” to name a few …

Currently playlist: M. Ward, Mogwai, Pinback, Arcade Fire

Food: I keep a balanced diet of hot dogs, quinoa and kale. :)
Six things I could never do without
1 - friends
2 - family
3 - nature
4 - bike
5 - laughter
6 - beer
*Bonus credit goes to: raw eggs with oatmeal
I spend a lot of time thinking about
We are the world...We are the children...WE are the ones to make a brighter day....So lets start living. There's a choice were making...were living our's true we'll make a better day for you and me. ;)
On a typical Friday night I am
If not demonstrating my mad dancing skills you may find me crooning at the saloon (Outback).

Ok..If you made it this far, I might owe you a beer by now.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I know the entire theme song to Gilligan’s Island
You should message me if are goofy, have a child-like sense of curiosity, want to laugh and play, have interesting conversations about this crazy thing called life. are ideological, intelligent, creative and reflective. want to take adventures in the wilderness and travel to exotic parts of the world with a backpack on your shoulders. value the quality of time spent connecting with friends, family, community and nature over the accumulation of stuff. prefer to ride a bike over getting into a car.
The two of us