41Boulder, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Welcome to my freshly revamped profile (as of May'17)

I'm an engineer who likes to travel around the world; volunteers both here and abroad; spends way to much time on 'projects' at the house; goes into the mountains for hiking, biking, and skiing; and goes into Denver for music, museums, friends, and a change in pace. Nowhere but my hometown of Boulder would this be considered common. Based on this website, I'm evidently uncommon as I don't rock climb, practice yoga, nor have I been on the Inca Trail. As there are few other places that I'd like to live, I consider myself fortunate and am thankful for everyday that I can see the mountains and live in this wondrous state.

I'm a semi-active Progressive Christian ( who is distressed at how the alleged spokesmen of Christianity portray the faith as a judgmental, hate-based, misogynistic/sexist/homophobic, and strictly dogmatic.
What I’m doing with my life
Last year had the summer of music festivals, this year is up in the air but will involve a combination of the following: multiple running events, bicycling (commuting and for fun), backcountry camping via the kayak, and music.
I’m really good at
My nephews tell me that it's the rolls I make for Easter dinner and every other holiday they talk me into making them for
The first things people usually notice about me
1. My friend says it's my big blue eyes

2. My hair, as it either is short and looks like Calvin's from Calvin and Hobbes or it is long, big, and bushy

3. I'm the guy strangers like to talk with at length at bars or at least the one wearing a shirt emblazoned with a Colorado flag.

4. When reviewing my profile, I'm afraid that it comes off as if I spend every waking second outside, which isn't true; I just have better outside pictures.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books change often, typically go to the local library every other week with selection based on what's on the new books shelf. Most of my books tend to be non-fiction for work or tech, economics, environmental, science, food science, and history related

Television moves between a series of binge worthy shows that occasionally get rewatched: Parks and Rec, Community, Portlandia, 30 Rock, and Dr. Who; currently watching American Gods and waiting to find down the time sink that will be binging Master of None.

Sports wise: I have season tickets for CU Basketball and watch the other local sports teams on TV when they happen to be on broadcast while I’m multitasking on the couch.

I mostly listen to satellite radio, KUNC, CPR Open Air, KGNU, & KSMT, I’m still deciding whether I like KUNC’s The Colorado Sound. PodCasts are focused on Freakonics, Planet Money, and Radiolab with regular excursions into the World In Words and 99% Invidible. For live music I love the local scene and try to appreciate most genres, with a tendency towards alternative/independent rock, the occasional alt-country, and a curated set of jam-bands.

I enjoy cooking barbecue (typically pork even though my family tradition dictates that BBQ is beef), Mexican, and Italian. I’m also gluten friendly with my homebrewing and baking (bread, pies, cookies, or other sweet things)

I'm also obsessed with coffee - locally from Ozo, Boxcar, and Paul's, and if traveling, Inteligentsia in Chicago.
Six things I could never do without
IPod - I've lost track of the number of days on it
garden/yard- xeriscaping and vegetables can be fun
My kitchen (see the food part above)
At risk of seeming materialistic: my bikes (all 5.5 of them), my skis (only 2), and kayak
coffee - especially the first cup of the day
Is that 5 or 6?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
If I'm on OKC: as someone who grew up with three styles of Mexican food (Tex-Mex, Chihuahua, and Northern New Mexico-Colorado) and considers the second to be my family cuisine with later exposure to the Arizona/Sonora and Baja styles, why is everyone sure that their preferred style is the only real one and all others are Tex-Mex? (Incidentally, “real” Tex-Mex is very rare in Colorado)

Am I the only one who is annoyed by the grammar in the pre-canned responses to questions on OKC? In particular, it is really acceptable to use the conjunction "and" rather than "but" as often as they do?
On a typical Friday night I am
Depends on the week, on alternating weekends I’m ether relaxing in Summit County (Dillon) or staying local with either friends or family.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Before my uncle married my aunt, he said that his criteria for whether a woman was old enough to date was whether she knew who CSNY were. In trying to think of a comparable generational band, I am still having trouble coming up with a similar cultural phenomenon for me, and I would greatly appreciate other ideas
You should message me if
I'm the kind of person who has been to 16 countries, volunteered on three continents, lives and engages in my dynamic and diverse community, and has had a mix of experiences. If you're up to joining in for this as friend who may progress into being a partner, let me know.

Since so many of my best matches have dogs: I have started taking allergy treatment and should, in theory, no longer be allergic to dogs, horses, and cats at the end of 2018. As it is, I can usually tolerate one or two indoor shorthaired cats or older, non-furry, indoor dogs but not much more and would never want to be in a situation where someone feels that she needs to choose between a dog and me.

Also, I’m not open to the idea of dating someone who smokes (it sets off my allergies) and am not 420 friendly.
The two of us