60Boston, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
When I first signed up here, I was a woman only in virtual space. But the Proteus Effect worked perhaps too well; I found that I wanted to become that woman in both lives. Aside from spending too much time in virtual space, I'm a geeky girl who tends to get obsessed with whatever is my current obsession.

I love to dance! I do contra, English country, medieval and Renaissance dance in the SCA, occasional Regency or Victorian events, some nights out at modern clubs, and I'm a member of a Morris team. There are so many pleasures in dance: showing off for an audience in performance dances, being part of a community in folk and contra dances, communicating nonverbally and being close to a partner in couple dances, and the sheer joy of movement in all of them.

I want to dress and move expressively, touch my consenting friends freely, and live with an open heart. All of those things fit better into my life as a woman than they did before transition.
What I’m doing with my life
Becoming the woman that I want to be.
I’m really good at
Talking to machines. (Seriously; put me in front of a strange computer or gadget and I'll quickly figure out how to get it to work.) Most kinds of dance that don't involve leading and following. Picking up tunes quickly (lyrics are another story). I've also been told that I give good hug.
The first things people usually notice about me
It used to be my eyebrows. But I had them done recently (the picture is before, not after) so I'd look more feminine, so I'm not sure right now.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I have a soft spot for The Harrad Experiment; it's not a great work of literature by any means, but it's the book that convinced me that it's possible to have more than one love in one's life. (Though it took me forever to figure out that it was possible outside of fiction.) I read too much science fiction; my particular weaknesses are cyberpunk (which I define as the literature that examines what it is to be human through the lens of what it is to be posthuman) and books that explores gender roles (Sheri Tepper, Melissa Scott, etc). In January 2012 I started going to the madfemmepride book club, so I've been reading some things that I otherwise might not have picked up.

Movies: a few favorites include LA Story, The Wizard of Speed and Time, Beauty and the Beast (the Disney one, not Cocteau which is OK but not the one that makes me cry every time I watch it), Up, Don Juan de Marco, The Purple Rose of Cairo, and The Princess Bride. I love animation, and also films that play with the boundaries of reality and unreality.

Music: alternative rock is my #1 thing, but I also like mashups, electronica/dance for the right occasions, some classic and prog rock, and folk music. Traditional music is fun when it goes along with traditional dance but I don't listen to it much the rest of the time. And I'll listen to Maddy Prior singing anything!

Food: almost anything from Mary Chung's (Suan La Chow Show is a special favorite), most Indian food, a good juicy hamburger, freshly baked bread. The things I make best are macaroni and cheese (baked stuff from actual cheese) and lasagna.
Six things I could never do without
My computers (who could live with just one?), my other technological toys, good food, good books, friends, and hugs.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Life, the universe, and everything. How I can find a meaningful existence in the here and now, make a difference in the world, and still make enough money to pay the bills and do the occasional fun thing. Why our country and our government are so messed up, and why people vote for such silly reasons and for such silly things.
On a typical Friday night I am
It varies wildly. I do something interesting most weekends; that could be going to a dance, a convention, volunteering as a ham radio operator or as a Linux geek at an installfest, catching a party or two, getting together with friends for board gaming, or occasionally catching a show or concert. (I rarely see a movie on the weekend; I'd rather catch them during the week when the crowds are smaller. Similarly, I'll go out to dinner if it fits in with other weekend plans, but if I'm just going out for a meal it's more likely to be on a weeknight.) But it doesn't always happen on Friday, so sometimes I'll be at home on my computer that night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I mostly only admit private things in private. Feel free to ask!
You should message me if can get along with someone who is bicultural: geek and human. If you can deal with someone who thinks seriously about life but also loves to laugh. If you want to know somebody who WON'T want to spend every minute with you. If you're can deal with a woman who spent most of her life living as a man and having it not feel quite right.
The two of us