34 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I recently decided I needed a major change in my life, so I took a chance and moved to Portland and so far I absolutely love it here. It feels more home to me than home does and it's only been a couple months. I am starting a new career as the manager of a research and cultivation facility dedicated to the advancement of horticultural sciences. It's a huge change for me and one I am super excited about. I live alone in a nice house on a quiet street with awesome neighbors, I drive a pickup truck, play guitar, and my fridge is always stocked with moderately healthy foods.

Aside from all the amazing restaurants out here and the occasional adventure, I'm not really the show me around the city type, and I'm looking for someone who would rather go home and cuddle up to Netflix after going out to dinner than go out to a bar or club or the like (not talking first date here, just in general). I'm not opposed to going out from time to time, but I work 60+ hours a week right now as we are ramping things up, with too few days off and I value my downtime immensely. In 6 months or so when the project I'm working on is complete, I'll have the easiest job on the planet so it'll be a different story. For now, I gotta take it easy. So in my downtime I play guitar, a little PS4, and like to take walks or hangout at the bluffs. Just little things that let me unwind and decompress from a crazy work week.

Random Facts in Random Order:
*Chicago transplant, just moved to Portland
*I hate bars of soap because I can never maintain a decent grip on them
*I like my bed to be in a corner
*I love to cuddle
*I like it to be freezing in my room when I sleep
*I can't dance... at all (and have no desire to learn)
*Been playing guitar for 15 years but somehow I still suck at it
*I'm colorblind
*Collared shirts make me feel uncomfortable (physically and emotionally)
*I wear Chuck Taylors
*I consider socks to be disposable
*Extroverted introvert
*I think you can tell a lot about a person by the way they arrange their smartphone's home screen
*My alarm clock goes off an hour before I need to get out of bed. I love snooze buttons. In other words....
*I am NOT a morning person
*Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, and it's best served at about 2ish. In case I wasn't clear, that's PM.
*I often have a hard time remembering what day of the week it is
*I drink too much coffee, yet not enough
*Dark chocolate, not milk
*I'm a major sap when it comes to puppies and kittens and just baby animals in general... it's almost pathetic
*I have a sometimes unhealthy obsession with oysters
*I'm almost positive that whoever invented the bloody mary, invented it specifically with my taste buds in mind
*Your parents will love me. So will your kid(s)
*Techno geek
*Malcolm Reynolds is my hero
*There is an eternal void in my heart that only Stevie Nicks circa 1976 can fill
*I have a very diverse taste in music. I like heavy metal, thrash metal, death metal, doom metal, sludge metal, stoner metal, power metal, groove metal, black metal... you get the idea
*Big fan of driving around with no destination whilst blasting the aforementioned music
*I think the guitar solo from Floods is the greatest ever recorded
*I like the concept of the parentheses (and over use parenthetical statements)
*I might accuse you of being a fake profile. Take it as a compliment
*I like my women like I like my beer- pale and bitter (TM)
What I’m doing with my life
I sold my car and girlfriend and bought a Mac-compatible rapid prototyping machine and a microkiln. Now I make tiny ceramic pipes shaped like cool wizards and naked ladies, smoke out of them, then break them so no one can ever know what I'm doing for those countless hours alone in my room.
I’m really good at
Being lazy, yet still getting shit done
Overthinking things
Ditching out unnoticed
Never going in the first place
Torrenting movies
Figuring shit out
Turning simple hamburger helper into exquisite dishes
Disrupting my circadian rhythm
The first things people usually notice about me
If I had a dollar for every time someone told me I reminded them of Charlie Day I could afford to take you to Baja Fresh and buy you dinner while I just eat the free nachos.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Rendezvous With Rama- Arthur C. Clarke
Hell House, What Dreams May Come, I Am Legend - Richard Matheson
At the Mountains of Madness- HP Lovecraft
The Thief of Always- Clive Barker

Dark City, Serenity, True Romance, This is Spinal Tap!, The Big Lebowski, Guardians of the Galaxy, Sunshine, Event Horizon, Tears of the Sun, Tombstone, Evil Dead Trilogy, Fifth Element, The Devil's Rejects, Strange Days, War of the Worlds, Starship Troopers, Lord of the Rings, The Stoned Age, Wristcutters, The Salton Sea, Moon

Black Mirror, Firefly, Shameless, Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones, Ray Donovan

Including but not limited to Black Sabbath, Sahg, Nevermore, Orchid, Spirit Caravan, Death, sHeavy, Serpent, Ghost, Bolt Thrower, Witchcraft, Symphony X, Iced Earth, Tool, Dio, Celtic Frost, Mastodon, Gojira, Lamb of God, Acid Bath, The Gates of Slumber, Dream Theater, Mad Season, Alice in Chains, Nile, Opeth, Warbringer, Skeletonwitch, Agalloch, Fireball Ministry, Daylight Dies, Sanctuary, Queensryche, Shrinebuilder, Dawnbringer, Insomnium, Candlemass.... Yep, I like metal.

Food: Any seafood besides cooked fish, sushi/sashimi, authentic tacos. Oysters and martinis go together like cocaine and waffles. Big fan of cheese... Arugula!

I barely drink anymore, but I will never turn down some hot sake. NEVER.
The six things I could never do without
1. reason and logic
2. a guitar
3. coffee
4. an iPod with a pair of nice headphones
5. clean socks
6. people to piss off
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How I really feel like I was meant to be a space pirate. Not even kidding- I don't belong on this planet, I belong amongst the stars. Maybe in the next life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Right now, relaxing on my couch playing video games or watching a movie. Sundays are the only days off I have, and sometimes I don't even get those. All this will change in the near future and I'll likely have plenty of free time then. It's all means to an end though and it's paving the way for a hopefully very early retirement.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Even though they are some of my favorites, I can't watch horror movies alone anymore. I guess I'm a big scared baby. Pretty sad.
You should message me if want to watch Peaky Blinders with me