36 Nashville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
These days I have been spending my free time on dance dance revolution and recreational math. I'd like to take more lessons in salsa dancing or ballroom, or maybe get into some casual frisbee or biking, but I am pretty busy with work and getting ready to move so I haven't really had tons of free time to begin with.

QuickMatchers can find my complete profile under the name SmartyPants80. Rather than continue about me, I will list a few things that I look for in women: I'm pretty tall (6'4") so I tend to date ladies taller than 5'5". This may sound cold but I don't deal well with whining or depression, I seek out more upbeat (or at least balanced) personalities. Goofy or nerdy girls score major points. I'm not hung up on a particular appearance but there are some things that I find attractive, for example I prefer "cute" over "hot", and I think it's important to have a healthy weight. When it comes to politics, I am somewhat open-minded -- I can respect disagreement, but I'm not much for activism. I don't do hate.

I am goofy, friendly, and intelligent
What I’m doing with my life
Last year I moved from Memphis to Nashville to be closer to the company I work for (also, Memphis sucks). My job involves standardized testing (mathematics) and I really like it; I started in summer 2006 in content development, and lately I am starting to get more involved in the field of psychometrics. Currently I work from home 80% of the time and go in to the office on Wednesdays.

My apartment lease is up at the end of May, so I am currently shopping for a house!
I’m really good at
I'm good at arguing, but I am very non-confrontational, so I much prefer compromise to conflict. I love learning and trying new things, parties, and travel, but I am also happy just spending a weekend simply chilling at the house. Unfortunately meeting new people and getting along in a group of strangers is NOT one of the things that I am really good at -- you could say that I'm a little shy by nature. However once I am with a group of friends, I love to make them laugh and I really know how to have a good time. I am also a good listener and very thoughtful, and I am always trying to grow as a person and be sensitive to other people, but I am not always very keen on picking up on silent clues.
The first things people usually notice about me
Physically, people first notice how tall I am -- 6'4". It's nice for reaching things on the top shelf but I'm also pretty clumsy.

Personality-wise it is my hope that the first thing people usually notice about me is my sense of humor. I'm not really a chatterbox, though, so most random people probably don't.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I hate these questions because it is so difficult to settle on "favorites". I prefer to say that I appreciate the good stuff and, honestly, I enjoy a lot of the bad stuff too. Anyway I'll just name the first few that come to mind.

Books: Stranger in a Strange Land, Snow Crash, Thank You For Smoking, Animal Farm. Honestly, most of my reading time these days is spent on textbooks and nonfiction.

Movies: Blazing Saddles, The Shawshank Redemption, The Matrix, As Good as It Gets. I love movies, maybe we can be friends on Netflix!

Music: It would be easier to name music that I don't like. And I can't.

Food: See Music.

Board games: Scene It?, Cranium, Apples to Apples, and more. I'd love to have a weekly game night. And a weekly karaoke night.

Podcasts: Nobody Likes Onions, The Word Nerds, TWiT, retroCRUSH, The Daily Purge, PNSexplosion, ExtraLife Radio.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
This is a silly question so I will hijack it and post random stuff here.

I say "oh noes" IRL. Also lately I've heard myself say "oh snape".

Sometimes I like to pluck out my whiskers with tweezers. Just a few, now and then.

My favorite word is "pants". My second favorite word is "monkey".

I want to get into boating. Maybe get a little sailboat. On a semi-related note, I observe "talk like a pirate day".

I tried to boil popcorn once. I don't have much cooking experience.
On a typical Friday night I am
Here lately I am sitting at home on Friday nights with my cat Mister Tickles. Sometimes I go to a place that has free salsa dance lessons or a movie. I want a more active social life though!
You should message me if
Just do it. I like getting mail.