38Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm educated, down-to-earth, independent, opinionated, passionate about the things I believe in. I'm also somewhat cynical and my sense of humor is sarcastic and a little off-color -- which I've been told sometimes surprises people.

I'm generally comfortable and chatty in most social situations -- although I do get sick of making small talk and quickly long to have close friends around. Politically, I'm pretty far left and I'll admit that I am quick to judge those who don't share my commitment to equality and social justice. One of my favorite things is relaxing with friends and rousing conversation (obviously with a little GOP trash talk) over a good beer or glass of wine (or 4. This crazy world drives me to drink these days).

I grew up in a small town in New England but have definitely become more of a city girl -- I love being able to walk everywhere (and if wherever I'm going is too far, the challenge of finding the best bus/metro route to take me there). And despite its occasional annoyances (tourists who can't figure out the escalators, intern season) I do love the bubble that is DC -- brunching, happy hour-ing, overly ambitious politicos, and all the rest of it!

A random list of my favorite things: Cape Cod, Tuscany (really any place in Italy), skiing, singing, thunderstorms, farmers' markets, finding the perfect gift/card for someone, a really good IPA or Sauvignon Blanc, curling up with a good book/movie/crossword puzzle/latest issues of The Economist or Real Simple, laughing uncontrollably, the Red Sox (it's okay if you're a Yankees fan -- just don't wear the hat if you meet my dad). And least favorites: People who grunt at the gym, bud light, traffic, being late, radical anti-choicers, people who take life (or themselves) too seriously. Oh, and cats. I'm much more of a dog person. I have one of my own - a tiny pitbull named Dorrie.
What I’m doing with my life
Social worker by training (but not the therapist kind -- the change the world kind), now I run a small nonprofit and help organizations be better at life. I'm also very involved in a bunch of different organizations, causes, etc. (Trying to work on being able to say no, but I've always been a "joiner.")
I’m really good at
Singing, laughing, drinking, operating a nonprofit, voting Democrat, skiing, conversation, jigsaw puzzles. Being the common denominator among friends who end up getting married.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile or my height. (Yes, I'm 5 feet tall. No, I cannot reach the top shelves in my kitchen without a stool.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Catcher in the Rye, The Great Gatsby, A Handmaid's Tale, 1984, Slaughterhouse Five, Life of Pi, The World According to Garp, Heart of Darkness, I Am Charlotte Simmons, Where the Sidewalk Ends.

Movies: Life is Beautiful, American Beauty, Magnolia, To Die For, Fargo, Litttle Miss Sunshine, Old School, The Wizard of Oz, and early Adam Sandler movies. TV: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Lost, True Blood, Dexter, Parenthood, Homeland, The Wire, The Daily Show, Game of Thrones.

Food: Italian, Mexican, and Thai are among my favorites, but I love pretty much all food. Food is good. I am not one of those girls who orders salads and I have no problem ordering dessert.

Music: I guess it depends on my mood, but really anything...except really twangy country and really heavy metal.
Six things I could never do without
-My urban family
-My dog
-My reproductive freedom
-A medium french vanilla Dunkin Donuts coffee with skim milk and two splendas every morning before work.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to create a "good to great" organization, how to end sexism/violence against women/racism/classism/homophobia and other simple things, expensive vacations I can't afford, where to get the best grilled buffalo chicken sandwich, and how to train my dog not to scare the shit out of people.
On a typical Friday night I am
Probably at happy hour with friends or co-workers, usually at some small, laid-back bar. Happy hour is awesome -- I can catch up with people, have a few drinks, and still be in bed at a reasonable hour so I can make it to spin class in the morning. :)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I find tattoos incredibly sexy -- especially those usually hidden by clothes or on guys I don't expect to have them.
You should message me if
You know how to make people laugh. You're just as comfortable at a baseball game as you are at the symphony. You enjoy good beer and better conversation. Your friends aren't sure why you're still single. You're nice to waitresses. You're ready to at least entertain the idea of being in a relationship if you meet someone cool. You love dogs, especially ones with a lot
The two of us