SnowSinger
37 Nashua, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
SnowSinger
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I like:

- Taking one route to get somewhere and another to get back
- Eating raspberries straight off the bush
- Snuggling up in bed on a cold night wearing an old-fashioned nightgown, knee socks, and nothing else
- Reciting poetry or singing from memory (particularly in archaic/dead languages)
- Making pancakes and bacon on Saturday mornings
- Standing on top of a mountain and knowing that I got there entirely under my own power
- Drinking black tea and checking my phone five minutes before going to sleep (I appear to be immune to both caffeine and blue light)
- Hanging up laundry on the clothesline on a sunny day
- Smelling lilacs
- Exploring old graveyards
- Engaging in random harmless acts of pyromania
- Making sure I hear the All Things Considered theme music at least once a day
- Drinking fruity, girly cocktails
- Loading up my Netflix queue and Kindle account with far more books and movies than I will ever have time to read/watch

I believe that true love should be based on a solid foundation of approximately equal portions passion, snark, and homemade locally-sourced bacon cheeseburgers.

Myers-Briggs INTJ (if you're into that sort of thing). Opinionated, creative, wacky, curious. Looking for a companion along the journey, literally and otherwise. My approach to life, love, sex (and spirituality) might best be described as "earthy".

I am very picky, but I fall hard. If I bother to message you, it's because I think there's serious potential.

My favorite season is winter, and I'm never more energized than when it's 30 below and there's 3 feet of snow on the ground. Hence the screenname.
What I’m doing with my life
Switching careers. Laughing at my kid. Working on a script for a musical. Getting out into the woods when possible (preferably on horseback).
I’m really good at
analyzing, thinking aloud, making it up as I go along, getting a workout while getting around, tree pose, and making pie.

I'm really bad at: lying. World's worst liar. Seriously.
The first things people usually notice about me
Blonde hair; look younger than I am; no-nonsense; low voice for a woman
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books that have shaped me at a fundamental level: Dorothy L. Sayers' "Gaudy Night," the Divine Comedy, Sigrid Undset's "Kristin Lavransdatter", the Narnia Chronicles. More recent discoveries: Jo Graham (OMG JO GRAHAM), Diana Gabaldon, Tana French, Chris Bohjalian, Joanna Trollope, Neil Gaiman, Emma Donoghue, Gail Godwin, Michael Pollan, Barbara Kingsolver, Laurel Thatcher Ulrich (yes, I read women's social history like novels).

Music: my Pandora shuffle cycles between Great Big Sea, Vampire Weekend, Franz Ferdinand, Steeleye Span, Natalie McMaster, TMBG and as much random bhangra, bossa nova and Afro-pop as I can convince the algorithm to let me listen to. I also love chant, classical, and choral music. Plus, yeah, Broadway musicals. My two favorites, improbably enough, are "Chess" and "The Secret Garden".

TV and movies: still catching up, since I've only had a Netflix sub for a year (late adopter, what can I say), but Call the Midwife and Outlander are tied for the best TV ever. I like costume dramas and character-driven shows/films in general, and have a low tolerance for violence, explosions and mindless sex.

Food: I'm a loca-omnivore, just don't try to feed me sushi. Oh, and while we're on the subject of food, if you're looking for a woman who can eat you under the table and belongs to that tiny minority of American females with no noticeable food or body issues, you've found your gal. I have a wicked sweet tooth and particularly enjoy the sensation of chugging cold milk and feeling it spread down the inside of my throat. And yet, I weigh 135 at 5'4". I guess I just have the world's most inefficient metabolism.
The six things I could never do without
(I'm assuming we're starting partway up Maslow's hierarchy here, so the basics like food, shelter and wifi have already been taken care of ...)

My smartphone, high-quality milk chocolate, Chapstick, my pellet stove, my bicycle, and my fuzzy slippers.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Compost, interpersonal dynamics, and the meaning of life.

Wondering why so many guys on OKC have the word "taco" as part of their usernames. Hoping it isn't some X-rated joke that I'm not in on.
On a typical Friday night I am
rocking the single-parent thing: on the couch with my laptop, chatting with my invisible friends in the computer, and/or watching BBC miniseries on Netflix.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
The longer I'm single the more I hate sleeping alone. I have been known to cuddle my kid's 3' tall stuffed snowman as a substitute.
You should message me if
you have a current passport, a large vocabulary, and the desire for a serious relationship.

Addendum: I take medication for anxiety. If this is a problem for you, or if you're going to try to mansplain me out of it, we're probably not a good match.
More