Socialdeixis
37 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Socialdeixis
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hello!

I'm here to meet someone nice, genuine, sympathetic, progressive, a good communicator, and someone who cares about societal and social justice issues. My background is fairly international so bonus points if you speak more than one language and celebrate different cultures.

I believe social media (OKC included) is a convenient way to reach out to people who you may otherwise not have the opportunity to meet to establish initial contact. But ultimately, I am on here to date and dating happens in person, not over the internet. Profiles and percentages can offer some good indicators and red flags, but ultimately, a face to face meeting is typically necessary to determine if there is real chemistry. I ask that you please read my profile and keep an open mind. I'm not on here to play games, be crude, vulgar or present myself as an ignorant fool. My intentions are sincere and I ask that you be honest in return.

I like foreign languages, linguistics, international studies, public policy, reading, writing, exercising, coffee, hiking, salsa dancing, good music, good conversation, genuine people, a clean environment, creativity, adventure, travel, and interesting situations.

I'm open to meeting nice people for the sake of having a good conversation over coffee or drinks, developing a friendship and going from there. I come from a good family of communicators, poet and psychologist for parents. I feel open to having any kind of conversation, and I appreciate and value differences that people bring to the table.
What I’m doing with my life
I am currently working for the City of Portland in a very engaging and interesting job. I get to live and work in this great city and that makes me happy. In addition to my job, I am a brother, an uncle, and a son. I have never been married and I have no kids. I am excited about what the future holds.

Exercising and personal fitness is important to me. I go to the gym daily. I also believe in surrounding myself with positive people and interaction. I spend a lot of my time immersed in books, meeting people with special interests, planning for my future, salsa dancing, furthering my education, and keeping up on current affairs, locally, nationally, and globally. I'm planning for purchasing a home, possibly a car, and MAYBE pursuing a doctorate.
I’m really good at
I'm good at having sincere conversations about deep topics.
I'm good at being honest, analyzing things, being creative, and making jokes.
I like to write in order to express my inner thoughts.
I'm good at pretending to know how to cook, leading a healthy lifestyle, being organized, problem solving, and figuring out complicated situations.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'd pay money to know this. Right now I can only speculate.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Vonnegut - Slaughterhouse Five, Cat's Cradle
Foucault - Madness and Civilization, History of Sexuality, Torture and Punishment
Chomsky - Manufacturing Consent
Said - Orientalism
Zinn - A People's History of the United States
Murakami - Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki
Food - Sushi, Chinese, Mexican
Music - Alternative, Indy, Latin, Anything with a good beat and not a dumb message inserted into the lyrics
The six things I could never do without
Culture, language, exercise, books, conversation, learning
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The world
On a typical Friday night I am
-cooking dinner and/or going salsa dancing
-seeing a movie
-going out
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can talk backwards.
You should message me if
-you are interested in meeting in person for the purpose of a DATE.
More