74San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I live SOMA on the third floor of a 1908 Edwardian building.
It has character. I like it.
Since 2009 I have lived in Maui, HI for four months each year.
I've bicycled to work for the last 20 years.
I've traveled extensively in Europe and Central Asia.
I taught school for a little while.
I sometimes swim at Stinson Beach and Lake Tahoe -- Brrrr.
One swim in San Francisco Bay was enough for a lifetime.
I love the city and I love the country.
I swim nearly every day in the ocean in Maui.
I'm not into team sports, but I do occasionally watch ice skating, tennis, or olympics, especially curling.
I did get dragged out to a local pub to watch the 2010 world series with my BFF Michael, visiting me in San Francisco.
I like Tanqueray gin, Bordeaux reds, Ginger beer, and 30 year old Scotch.
I like Three Philosophers beer -- my recent discovery.

I am genuine, gregarious, and curious.
What I’m doing with my life
I retired from a long computer career in 2001.
Now I am a housing provider -- landlord!
I try to do something new each year.
In 2002 I danced in 7 performances of the Bay Shore Lyric Opera production of Die Fledermaus. I even got paid!
In 2005 it was snowboarding and surfboarding.
(See Mauicat-dot-info or Mauicat-dot-com)
In 2006 I got certified for open water SCUBA.
I like to dance a few times a week.
Currently I do Scandinavian couple dances, Macedonian, Bulgarian, and Greek folk dancing, waltz and swing dancing.
I try to spend an hour or three each day reading.
In 2007 I took up waltz seriously -- classes at Stanford. I love it.
In 2008 I got certified for Nitrox (oxygen-rich) diving gas.
In 2009 swing dance in Maui.
I bought a house in Kahana, Maui in May, 2008.
I bought a beach front condo in Maui in April, 2010.
I'm in Maui for four months now, Feb, 2011.
Now I really want a partner and playmate!
I’m really good at
Dancing -- to almost any music.
Skiing, swimming, diving, horseback riding, cooking, opening clams and oysters,
Fixing things -- any things -- really!
Pleasing a partner.
The first things people usually notice about me
My thick grey hair and brown eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Jonathan Kellerman, Faye Kellerman, Bernard Malamud, Joseph Heller, Jerzy Kosinski, Isabel Allende, Kurt Vonnegut, Alan Paton

Movies: Any by John Waters, Any with Meryl Streep

Music: Anything but House.

Food: Never met a meal I didn't like. Anything from the ocean,
fresh raw vegetables, spare ribs
Six things I could never do without
Music, Dance, Love and Friends, Food, Good Tools, Bicycle
I spend a lot of time thinking about
When will I get to visit my cousin in Firenze again.
When will I get to Kathmandu or Machu Pichu.
How to get a building project moving again.
Mourning my kitties Emma who died in 2006.
Mourning Gracie, Emma's twin sister who died December, 2007.
(See my kitties at SomaCat-dot-com)
Renovating my flat South of Market -- 2011 just put in wood floors.
On a typical Friday night I am
Dancing to Balkan music -- Macedonian, Bulgarian, Greek
At the theater.
Having dinner with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My house is way, way too messy. Only the living room and guest bedroom are preserved for proper visits.
2011 - New era! All rooms cleaned out, new hardwood floors while I'm in Maui. I can't wait to mess it up again.
You should message me if
You live in, or very close to San Francisco or Maui, HI.
Close means Berkeley, Oakland, Alameda, Mill Valley, and Sausalito -- or Maui from time to time.
Beyond that starting a relationship would be a problem.

You like to dance.

You like to eat.

You like adventure.

You like Hawaii.

You are willing to live life fully, to engage with trust, fun and acceptance of the unknown.

Try something new every year (or month, or ...)
The two of us