38Knoxville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Never been a fan of self summaries; anybody who can be summed up in a paragraph probably doesn't have a lot going on! Regardless, I joined this website because I moved to Knoxville after a college, a master's, 4 yrs of work in California, and left behind a great network of close friends out there; to be happy, I need to build a good group of friends here as well. And let's be honest, I wouldn't mind meeting a cool girl either. I'm currently a graduate student getting my PhD in theoretical physics (don't worry, I'm not like the guys on Big Bang Theory). I like hiking, snorkeling/SCUBA, anything to do with ocean or space, art, astronomy, good movies, and I love summer street festivals. I tend to have a lot of parties, because I love getting a good group together to talk and laugh about culture, society, music, movies, etc. I also love cooking, but don't really know how to bake. I grew up about 20 miles south of Cape Canaveral in Florida, and seeing the space shuttle and other rockets launch every few weeks got me interested in space and science at an early age and it's been my passion ever since.

Favorite quotation:
"If one had ascended to heaven and had obtained a full view of the nature of the universe and the beauty of the stars, his admiration would be without delight, if there were no one to whom he could tell what he had seen."
What I’m doing with my life
Up until summer 2009 I worked in California as a Spacecraft Design Engineer (no seriously, I really was a rocket scientist), but decided to go back to graduate school to get my PhD because though the engineering was cool, what I find fundamentally more interesting is the underlying science behind it. I miss making many times what I currently make, but it's only for a couple more years and I'm really enjoying my work. I chose Knoxville for grad school (over Hawaii and Arizona, I know, hard to believe) because of Oak Ridge National Lab, and to be closer to my immediate family (a bunch in Tennessee, almost all on East Coast), especially my father (Memphis) and grandparents, who have a big ranch up in the Smokies. Currently I'm also looking into pro-educational foundation-y type stuff (outside of my PhD). And I need to find some volunteering stuff to do as well, so if you have a recommendation...
I’m really good at
I would say that I'm good at making people feel at ease, and I'm proud of my cooking, and I've got strong hands (I like to sculpt), and I've been told I'm good at massage. I'd like to say I'm good at salsa dancing, but I'm a bit out of practice.
The first things people usually notice about me
I laugh a lot, and have been told I'm "obsessed with communication" in that if I care about an conveying a particular idea, suggestion, or concept, I might go a little bit overboard to make sure I'm conveying it clearly.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite books: Stargazer, Wine & War, The Fountainhead, Empire of Illusion, the Count of Monte Cristo, and any Vernor Vinge or Chris Hedges. And, don't faint, but I have read Pride and Prejudice; I'd say I'm like Mr. Darcy but that dude is a punk.
For movies, I'll see just about anything, I try to stay away from Michael Bay type stuff but can't help it if it's about space or sci fi. Faves: Aliens, Donnie Darko, Stardust, Primer, the Abyss, Love Actually, About a Boy, and anything by Tarantino. Oh, and all the Apatow/Todd Philips/Seth Rogen movies. For TV I'd go with Dexter (in small doses), True Blood, Hawaii Five-O, Parks & Rec, Game of Thrones, and How I Met Your Mother (this show is totally the new Friends).
Music-wise, I seem to collect musician friends, so I've had a lot of varied influences over the years, but I like most genres, with not as much of an interest in classical. Recent favorites: Florence + the Machine, Broken Bells, Zero 7, Mars Volta, Rufus Thomas, Royksopp, the Knife, Ladytron, MSTRKRFT, Neko Case, Tristen, Rilo Kiley, and Guy Monk. Long term faves: Led Zeppelin, Dave Matthews, and Tori Amos, who was my neighbor when I was in high school. Basically, if it's quality, I'll dig it.
I like most cuisines, but grew up without Thai, Indian, & Sushi, which now would probably top out as my favorites, along with Middle Eastern. When I cook though, I tend to cook Cajun, French, and Italian (my chicken saltimbocca rocks). I spent a week in Hawaii this year, and learned that I could happily live off of ahi poke forever.
Six things I could never do without
Once you have an iPod you can't go back
Good Friends
Spicy food
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Love, nature, science, politics, and my future; but I look forward to contemplating your awesomeness.
On a typical Friday night I am
At a bbq/dinner party/out with friends/on a date
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I was 14 I got knocked out after being thrown by a horse when a badger (or a marmot, or something) bit the horse's leg, at my grandparent's ranch
You should message me if
...any of this sound interesting, and you think of yourself as clever.
The two of us