StayingIntrigued
61 Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
StayingIntrigued
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Expressive, curious, thoughtful, a bit unconventional, dependable. I seriously don't feel like I'm getting old, it just feels like my life keeps becoming more enriched with experience (and some wisdom and stuff like that.) I'm comfortable as ever in my skin and looking in the mirror is the main reminder that it's not still 1999.

I enjoy movement in all ways - the gym, yoga, swimming, bicycling, walking, hiking, free form dance (and learning basic steps again now.) I'm staying healthy as ever...in all ways. I get excited about music in many genres and attend the occasional concert and festival. And I'm going to do more traveling in the upcoming years (I spent 18 days in Costa Rica in April.)

I've always seen profundity in the mundane and awe in the mystery of life. And I like to explore what it means to live more spiritually conscious. I find that my passion for life has not dimmed with the years. I like to be intrigued emotionally, intellectually, and aesthetically.

I like people who laugh easily, can carry on conversation about a number of things and who are appreciative of how good most of us have it in this time and place in history and the world.

I’m an optimist who ultimately finds humor - and lessons - in most things including the hardships along the way. I semi-recently had one: a severe car crash but it changed my life in interesting and positive ways. I'm amazed at my recovery.

I’m looking for an open-minded, inquisitive, independent companion to share life, outings, travel, adventures, and growth (personal and together.) I'm looking for a fun and deep connection on many levels.

----------
I've had the above self-summary for some time now. And it all rings true. But I want to add a solid biographical piece to it. I'm in a happy and unconventional place in my life. After my accident, my brother - who has also been a good friend to me for decades - asked me if I would like to move in with him. His wife had just moved out and he has 50% custody of his three kids (now 6, 10, and 12) so I've been a big help. It's an real win-win-win: I've always wanted to be a more active uncle, the kids love having me here, I help a lot, I get a nice big space of my own in a beautiful house in Ballard. I'm a sort of silent partner in that another brother's business so I have some passive income (+ other modest investments.) Thus, I'm temporarily retired, taking care of some projects, figuring some stuff out and... (oh, the next section sums it up :-)
What I’m doing with my life
Balancing living in the present, fully enjoying my current life...with planning and having fun anticipation for the years ahead. I'm excited about all my future possibilities while staying grounded in the present.
I’m really good at
listening well
being thoughtful
laughing easily
taking care of myself
enjoying myself in many situations
cooking a delicious and nutritious meal for a friend
The first things people usually notice about me
Tall, lean, bald, easy smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: Dylan, Black Keys, Casandra Wilson, Duke Ellington, Gotan Project, Handel, Led Zeppelin, Mozart, Neil Young, Sarah Vaughan, Sleater-Kinney, Talking Heads, Telemann, Vivaldi, White Stripes. Also: Brazilian, Blue Note jazz (+ a lot of other jazz), reggae, some funk, plus a whole lot of rock (mostly indie.)

Movies: Philomena, The King's Speech, The Skelton Twins, Stranger Than Fiction, Ruby Sparks, Amelie, Some Like It Hot, Your Sister's Sister, Groundhog Day.

Books by Steven Levine, Adyashanti, Krishnamurti, Sam Harris, Thomas Friedman, Fareed Zakaria (just recently read ones.) Also: the daily newspaper and various magazines.

Podcasts: Slate Cultural & Political Gabfests, Tara Brach (Buddhist teachings), To the Best of Our Knowledge, TED Radio Hour, Freakonomics, and many others. I watch no television (but not a snob about this!) Oh, I am, on occasion, enjoying (on disc), Portlandia.

At home: Vegetables prepared in a multitude of ways, fish, and, in moderation, modest amounts of well-sourced poultry and meat plus a nice variety of other healthy things. Out: quite flexible but partial to Thai, Tex-Mex, and seafood.
The six things I could never do without
1. Music
2. Exercise
3. Healthy and tasty food
4. Fun and interesting banter
5. Sensuous appreciation of life
6. Connecting with nature
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I believe that I've written plenty already :-) Please see the above sections: there is a lot in there that I do spend time thinking about.

But, regularly, I want to spend less time thinking as well (quieting my mind.)
On a typical Friday night I am
Nothing typical.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
.
You should message me if
You are willing to invest an hour or so walking with me at one of the beautiful parks around here. I find that this is the most comfortable way of meeting. OR: pick a favorite coffeehouse if you'd like. It may be the start of something...or not - but at the very least, it will be an interesting connection.

You can stay open to someone who has led a modest but interesting and satisfying life and is intrigued with each day (in some small way or another) - and is open to any number of paths ahead (possibilities!)
More