28 Durham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Down to earth, passionate, and easy going. I know myself and know what I want.

I love to laugh and be playful - a good sense of humor is really important to me. I'm a bit artsy and usually in the midst of some kind of creative project. Cooking has been a big creative outlet. I'm a dreamer - I love imagining possibilities - and at the same time I'm practical and a big planner. I'm also a bit of a romantic, and prefer to give and receive gestures that are authentic rather than from any kind of romance checklist. Definitely an optimist - the universe is an amazing place, and I like to make time for moments of awe.

Science and knowledge oriented - I approach the world with a healthy mix of skepticism and curiosity. Fascinated by a wide variety of science things, especially neuroscience, astronomy/physics, medicine, and of course the chemistry of cooking.

I love celebrating holidays; traditions with family and friends are really important. I'm very close with my immediate family. And I also just love any reason to throw a party.
What I’m doing with my life
I work with adolescents in mental and behavioral health. I'm fortunate to have a role that taps into my creativity, and allows me to experience my favorite part of the job - seeing young people struggling in life getting to have moments of normal kid-ness.

Keeping work and life in balance is a priority for me. I'm social, and enjoy time to myself- I make sure to spend time with people who are important to me, and I love taking trips and planning get togethers. I crave sunshine and love the outdoors - I always have herbs or vegetables growing in the warm months, and love the pool and the beach, as well as the cliched long walks. I also just can't help myself from exploring houses under construction.

I'd love to travel more, with someone. My travel style is pretty easy going, and I absolutely love being able to chat a little in other languages - it feels like magic.

Getting into yoga and meditation.
I’m really good at
Cooking! I've loved it all my life and it led me to working in a farm-to-table restaurant kitchen for a couple of years. I love being able to cook together.

Planning, listening, growing herbs, pet whispering.

I'm also surprisingly good at shopping for other people - looking for a great piece of art for your living room or a replacement for your favorite pair of shoes? I'm your girl.
The first things people usually notice about me
My strawberry blonde hair. I also sometimes laugh inappropriately loud. That I always appear cool, calm and collected (I have a really good poker face)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'm all over the place in the fiction I read. My nonfiction go-to's are about food, neuroscience, home design, memoir/biography.

Eternal Sunshine, Waitress, You've Got Mail, Moon, Tron, Steel Magnolias, Anchorman, Elf, Forrest Gump, Stranger than Fiction ("I brought you flours"), Mona Lisa Smile, Contact

Mad Men, Portlandia, Parks and Rec, Girls, Arrested Development, Game of Thrones, Sex and the City, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, The Office, Gilmore Girls, Silicone Valley, Last Man On Earth, Broad City

Music is a wide variety (minus country). Highlights: OK Go, The Shins/Broken Bells, Washed Out, Queen, Prince, Bon Iver, Florence + the Machine...many things

Radiolab, This American Life, Wait Wait Don't Tell Me!, Freakonomics Radio, Serial

I'm open and adventurous when it comes to food - favorites include Indian, Thai, sushi, Mexican, Greek. I prefer quality over quantity when it comes to coffee. Wheaty beers, red wine, whiskey cocktails. Keeping healthy leafy things in balance with ice cream.
The six things I could never do without
Chocolate, humor, honest conversations, close friends/family, lazy weekend mornings, sunlight
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How I can be more open minded to other perspectives, plans I want to make, various and sundry things that I have to google search right now

How plugging my headphones into my tablet feels like listening to a monstrous iPod
On a typical Friday night I am
Out or in with friends. Going to new restaurants downtown, drinks on the roof, comedy shows, live music

I also enjoy a good Netflix binge on the couch
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I had my appendix taken out, they told me it was longer than average.

So I've got that going for me.
You should message me if
You like trying new restaurants and are an adventurous orderer

You'd like to spend a Saturday morning at the Farmer's market buying produce in unusual colors

You've got a few smooth moves up your sleeve

You'd be into teaching each other something new

You like new adventures as much as you like relaxing and taking time away

You're progressive and open-minded