44Arlington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hmmm...I appreciate a soft smile, a good romantic comedy and a cup of hot cocoa or a glass of red wine over good conversation. I enjoy humor, depth and just being able to 'be' sometimes (though spending time with life long friends is always on my 'top five' list of things to do).

I am looking for a connection with the right guy, with whom I can communicate by word or a simple look and who doesn't struggle to, at times, just 'get me.'

I am a fun loving, attractive, education valuing, home owning, intelligent, low drama, liberal, driven yet laid back kind of girl, who has some edge and a dry and fun sense of humor.

If you're still interested in reading, I'm also a red head born to American parents...was born in Tokyo and grew up in Tokyo, Hong Kong and Manila until I was 18. After graduating from Duke University (I was a history major, played varsity tennis and lived with Spanish family in Madrid while I was there), I spent 10 years in the corporate sector, living in New York and DC only to later find that what I really wanted to be when I 'grew up' was a counselor (psychotherapist) and separately, a higher education administrator...which explains why I then got a masters in counseling and am now both a part-time counselor in private practice, working with a group of seven other counselors, as well as a full-time Alumni Relations Officer at Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (in International relations at the DC campus -- not Baltimore).
What I’m doing with my life
Enjoying it! Please see my 'self summary' response....
I’m really good at
Playing tennis (though I don't play often enough), balancing my checkbook, making people feel comfortable (which can include a good laugh), making a mean cup of Dunkin' Donuts French vanilla coffee, phattin' out on my couch on a Saturday afternoon, being random and enjoying a good meal with a glass of red wine.
The first things people usually notice about me
My red hair, laugh, curiosity, comfortable aura, ability to get along with others, friendly nature, Intenational background, sense of humor and dry witt.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
This one's easy. Right now, I'm reading the fourth book of the "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" series and love it. My favorite romantic comedy is "When Harry Met Sally," my favorite romantic holiday flick is "The Holiday," my favorite movie drama is "A River Runs Through It," my favorite shows are "Sex and the City," "Downton Abbey" and any 80s TV sitcom (e.g. 'Family Ties,' 'Cheers,' 'Who's the Boss,' etc.), my favorite music is anything 80s (especially 'Journey' or Billy Joel), jazz (love going to Blues Alley), most top 100 hits on the radio and yes, Christmas music,...oh, and food? Really anything, except maybe just a plain slab of liver. But really, I especially enjoy sushi, Spanish tapas, seafood in general, creamed spinach or cheesy broccoli, almonds and any variety of cheese.
Six things I could never do without
Family/friends/love (all one category), laughter/humor, international/global conversations with people who share that perspective, massage/bubble baths, time to goof off and insight.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
People and what makes them tick AND global/Intenational issues.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with a friend or friends, eating good food and drinking good wine and getting home at a reasonable enough hour that I still have time to watch some 'bad TV' or catch up on the news, before drifting off into 'la la' land in my Tempurpedic bed (am the world's biggest fan, by the way).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I still believe in Santa Claus (and I might hold a soft spot for someone else who sees magic in the wonder of a child's eyes...)
You should message me if
You enjoyed reading any part of what I've written....oh, and you're a Democrat or lean left....cheers!
The two of us