66 Carrollton, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I see that OKCupid has determined that I am "more mathematical." You don't know how funny that is.

I am an adventurer, dreamer, lover, student, and seeker, a playful, easy going, thoughtful, and in her prime woman. It doesn’t take much to make me happy, although I enjoy and am comfortable with nice things/places. I am a bit introverted—reflected in my need to have some alone time to recharge—but I can strike up a conversation with anyone and am a good listener. I have a serious side, and I am really quite funny, which I enjoy. I read somewhere that laughing with a friend is a direct way to connect with the Divine. I have more questions than answers. I am in good shape/health and have a lot of energy. I intentionally walk in the rain, listen for the hawk's cry, and point my face into the wind.

I’ve lived in Ohio, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York and for most of my adult life in the Atlanta area, both in town and in surrounding areas. I do hear and respond to that different drummer, and my life reflects that. I’ve had a varied career, lived aboard a sailboat and on an island in the Caribbean, and I returned to college later in life to earn a graduate degree. I recently retired (early) from a job where I worked way too many hours, and I am eager to use my time differently and enjoy life.

My likes and interests are many and range from the formal to the very informal, from the serious to the lighthearted. I read the comics and the dictionary, and I enjoy taking day trips and completing projects around the house. I love to travel and explore different cultures/languages. Being in nature, especially water, is essential. Relationships—friends and family—are key. Personal growth, openness, integrity, and balance are values I hold.

I am definitely spiritual but not religious. I do some work with a shaman and find it meaningful. In this regard, I am not typical. My search for meaning has not been satisfied in organized religion. A man who holds tightly to his Christian convictions and is not able to accept/value other paths would not be a match.

I am sensitive, intuitive, curious and intelligent--love to learn and experience new things--independent, free spirited, sensual, and quite youthful.

I'm looking for a man who is resilient, kind, honest, and thoughtful, one who smells good and has a great laugh. There is that mysterious thing called chemistry between us. I like the way I feel when with him; he brings out the best in me and I in him. He is neither clingy, controlling, nor insecure. Like me, he has a twinkle in his eye. He is active, fit, and adventurous.
What I’m doing with my life
Enjoying it! I sing in a women's chorus, volunteer on a chemical-free farm in return for fresh produce, belong to a book club, sometimes sit in on classes at the local university (just completed a semester of Advanced Grammar), walk around 12 miles a week, and I am starting a consulting business. Just beginning bass guitar lessons. I'm excited!
I’m really good at
Not using the words always, never, you should, or you ought to. People laugh when they are around me, and sometimes it's laughing at me, but I don't mind and am probably laughing at myself, too. I like to cook, and sometimes I think I am good at that. I am a good dancer and have the potential to be even better. I'm good at making the better choice when I ask myself the question, "Would you rather be right or happy?"
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes and my smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I was vegetarian for decades, and although I expanded my diet several years ago, I still don't eat much meat and prefer a healthy diet most of the time. That aside, I love good food of almost all types and will try at least a bite of most things. Don't eat fast food at all.

I enjoy almost all types of music except country and heavy metal. Had season tickets to the opera for a few years.

I read everything, even cereal boxes; don't watch much TV; love movies but don't watch ones that contain violence, which I fail to find entertaining.

I listen to a lot of NPR.
The six things I could never do without
Good friends and my family (condensing two categories into one here)
Water--Drinking it, yes, but here I am more specifically referring to geting IN it.
Nature--being in, reveling in, and appreciating our natural world in all its forms.
Personal growth (a broad, all-inclusive category)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to keep the squirrels out of my plants!!! I have tiny pecan and oak sprouts everywhere. Someone suggested I mark my territory, and I am seriously giving it some thought.
On a typical Friday night I am
A group of friends gets together on a somewhat regular basis for dinner at a local restaurant. This past Friday I went to listen to a friend's visiting sister play guitar and sing at a local venue. Wishing I were dancing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm an open book to those with whom I choose to develop deep, caring, and lasting relationships.