32 San Jose, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've just moved to the area with my job. As you'd expect, that makes me a programmer.

I'm a keen walker & climber so I'm looking forward to doing a lot of exploring in the good weather we get.

I'm interested in most topics these days, even the ones I loathed at school. Particularly keen on linguistics outside the expected computer/math/tech thing, but strictly as an amateur.

I'm fairly laid back, adopting the family's unofficial "just wing it" motto with gusto. Most things can be sorted out as and when they're needed.
What I’m doing with my life
I've just moved here from the UK to work in software. Good fun as far as I'm concerned, and I'd probably do it regardless of pay.

I'd like to get reasonably competent at climbing again since this is such a great area for it (El Capitan is on the list at some point). Other than that, thinking of taking up diving again, or more wilderness camping.
I’m really good at
Turning computers off and on again. Oddly it seems to work when I do it even if it hasn't for other people.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: mostly science fiction/fantasy for general reading (George R R Martin, Erikson and Banks are favourites but I'm not picky), but I do love a good victorian romance too.

TV: I don't watch too much TV, and that is on the computer. Nothing particularly worthwhile either, but as long as it's not "reality" I can probably cope.

Movies: I usually tend to pick science fiction at the cinema, though the fewer explosions the better on average. That or romantic comedies, though I don't really enjoy the slapstick style.

Food: I love curries, in virtually all incarnations. Other than that, cheeses are a particular favourite, and I've been pleasantly surprised at what I've found here so far.
The six things I could never do without
Books. Tea. Books. Electricity. Books. Internet.
On a typical Friday night I am
Mostly at home, usually plotting what I'll do for the rest of the weekend. Which might be out and about on the hills or might be at home doing some programming I can't manage to convince anyone to pay me for.