34Berkeley, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I run a law firm in Berkeley. It's a hell of a lot of work, but I enjoy it. It keeps me learning and every so often I get to really help people.

The rest of my time, generally, is at the gym. I do MMA in town, and am slowly getting better at jits. I find MMA people a lot friendlier than the other arts I've done, and even losing is a pretty good time.

I'm expansive, curious, disputatious, and confident. I like to think I have a good sense of humor, my Teutonic background notwithstanding, and I enjoy a broad competence in other people and in myself.

I'm also married. We see other people, she has her own profile on here, and so on. Honesty is our byword, and really we're both looking to date other grown-ups. Scandalous secret affairs are for teenagers, and one of the great things about being an adult is that you can have all sorts of awesome relationships with all sorts of people, as long as they're adults too.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm running my firm, expanding and consolidating. I'm in Alameda, Hayward, or Martinez handling hearings or trials, or I'm parked under my cats in Berkeley. Or at the gym.
I’m really good at
Learning and teaching. I speak well, and have a good sense of which verbal skills should stay in the courtroom. Paradoxically, I'm also good at felling trees, running a tractor, and putting together as many vegetarian sources of protein as possible in a single meal.

I'm also pretty damn good at lifting weights, and increasingly good at BJJ.
The first things people usually notice about me
Tall, blond-ish, generally in a suit in my professional context.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Pretty well anything from Dennett, Dawkins, and Pinker, as well as the Genealogy of Morals and the more sarcastic portions of Tacitus. Ender's Game has a special place in my heart, as does House of Leaves and a couple books on the Phoenix Program from my thesis. Douglas Valentine is full of shit, though. Also All Quiet on the Western Front is great. My music is pretty eclectic, and most of the movies I watch feature either kung-fu or explosions. Ideally both, but those are harder to find. I like Thai and Indian food, but most of the meals I actually make are simpler.

Gets a little weird with music. KMFDM, other industrial stuff, third-wave ska, and a scattering of other stuff. Listening to a lot of Dragonette right now, which reminds me of my wife.
Six things I could never do without
Books, free weights, clever and well-spoken friends, cats, decent speakers, and a solid scotch. Probably not in that order.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Lifting and law, science and a parade of cool-ass stuff on the side. I love learning how things work and I think that the more you know, the easier it gets to learn more.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either at a bar with friends or at someone's house with friends. Or at the gym, if my schedule got messed up the week before.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I had to skip out on any real bio class because I don't do animal experiments, so I'm building that body of knowledge from scratch.
You should message me if
I'm mostly looking for good conversation, really. I like people who love what they are or what they do well enough to be able to speak about it clearly and passionately.

Also plus twenty points if you work in neuroscience. I've come to admit that it's a huge draw for me, odd as it sounds.
The two of us