36Kansas City, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
UPDATE: I just moved to Kansas City, so if I message you, it's likely I'm trying to learn something more about the area. I also need to rewrite this profile, as was originally written with the intention of meeting ladies, not for making friends.

Sometimes I think all I need to say on this profile is that I once played a game of Cards Against Humanity with my mom. I didn't set out to do this but it happened. And it was pretty awesome.

But I guess a little more about myself might be required:

So a long time ago in a small town not too far east of St. Louis, I joined the Army. My first duty station was in South Korea, where I lived for a year. And that experience taught me that the world is much bigger than myself and that I need to be open to new things.

Following the Army, I went to college because I didn't enjoy people shooting at me when I was in Iraq. I moved to St. Louis to finish the last two years of college, and some time after that, I got an adult job. I also started playing roller derby. I've been doing it for a few years, and I enjoy it a lot. Sometimes I'm even decent.

Generic description you will find on most other profiles:

I like trying new things and discovering the city. Going out to a new restaurant or hole in the wall I heard about in the RFT is always a great idea. I'm not afraid of seeing a movie with subtitles. Dressing up to go out for an evening can be fun, as well as staying in on the couch.

Deal breakers:

I’m kind of a big fat liberal - for the most part, just not in your face. I actual have just a touch of a few other political philosophies in me, too, but I big supporter of gay marriage and women’s right (and I’m not just saying this to pick up chicks, though they do love my feminist rhetoric)

More random details because why not:

I'm a big nerd when it comes to listening to NPR and other podcasts.

Cooking is something I like to do, and I can do it fairly well, too. Not to toot my own horn. Sometimes I mess up, and that's when I order pizza.

Staying up late and sleeping in. Kind of a pro at it.

I like whiskey, neat. And cocktails, too. Going out to a dive bar or a local brewery.
What I’m doing with my life
To pay the bills, I work at MasterCard in security. There are a lot of areas in my job, but the most interesting aspect is that I monitor the security situation in countries where MasterCard operates in. I tend to be aware of most global events, from the Middle East to the happenings in china and all over.

I also play roller derby. I'm kind of a big nerd when it comes to the sport.
I’m really good at
making guacamole and a fool of myself, though never at the same time.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have little to no hair on my head and often wear a beard. I believe it's a popular trend with guys over the age of thirty.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Authors: Ugh, I need to read more, but here are some authors I have enjoyed in the past: Alan Moore, David Sedaris, Jeff Smith, J.G. Ballard, Cormac McCarthy, Joseph Heller, Joss Whedon, Milton, Kurt Vonnegut, Ken Kasey, Charles Bukowski, Sherman Alexi.

Movies: If you like some popular movies but also like going to see a movie at the Tivoli or the Moolah, we will most likely get a long just fine.

Music: I like music, as most people do. I'm a fan of The Decembrists, Faith No More, The Cure, The J.B's, Radiohead, T.V. on the Radio, John Coltrain are just a few. But what I've really been into as of late is Podcasts - Slate's podcasts, Judge John Hodgman, How did this get made?, Filmspotting, and a lot of NPR.

Food: Um... yes, please? I'm a big foodie. I find pleasure in trying new foods, and I'm up for just about anything.
Six things I could never do without
My three legged dog, Marv
Staying up late
You should message me if
If you got this far and you liked what you have read, feel free to send me a message.
The two of us