Talonstrike
37Sunnyvale, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Talonstrike
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a techie and a home-body, though I do like going to the occasional convention (my next one will likely be OryCon in November). I like nature, too, though I don't get out in it as much as I used to. Outside of the digital world, I'm most at home on the beach or in a redwood forest.

Remember when OKC used to ask you to describe yourself in three words? Pepperidge Farms remembers. (Mine were intelligent, introverted, and self-upgrading.)
What I’m doing with my life
I do tech stuff (both for work and for fun), run a Doctor Who podcast with some friends, and get distressed about American politics.

I also dig video games, and have been playing a fair bit of Rust and Rimworld as of this writing, but the exact titles I'm playing shift often.
I’m really good at
Computers, mostly, but also academics, learning things, math, science, and language.

I'm also great at sleeping in, procrastination, underachieving, and arriving late to anything that starts before noon.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably the hat.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Douglas Adams' Hitchhiker's Guide series and Diana Wynne Jones' Chrestomanci series. Recently, I've been reading Harry Potter for the first time -- no book 7 spoilers, I'm not done with it yet! I have a strong preference for e-books -- let the trees live!

Movies: My favorites are Lord of the Rings, The Last Starfighter, Serenity, and that Red Dwarf movie they've been promising for about 15 years but haven't made yet.

Shows: Doctor Who tops the list, as I co-host and produce a weekly podcast about it. I also enjoy Red Dwarf, Arrow, Flash, Gotham, Agents of SHIELD, and various incarnations of Star Trek.

Music: My musical taste is eclectic, though I don't much care for rap or country. My two favorite bands are The Beatles and Metallica. I'm not a super musical person.

Food: Italian! Spaghetti with a good meat sauce, or chicken fettuccine alfredo primavera, or LASAGNA (shades of Garfield there...).

Video games belong on this list: Final Fantasy IV (and the rest of 1-6), Minecraft, Rimworld, Rust, the Civilization series, tons of random stuff on Steam. Classic NES and SNES.

Oh, and comic books: Buffy, Angel, Knights of the Dinner Table, Stephen King's Dark Tower comics, and a few others. I tend to fall years behind and then catch up all at once.

I don't follow any webcomics anymore, but still cite a few of my favorite xkcd, SMBC, and Ctrl+Alt+Del comics from time to time.
Six things I could never do without
Glasses, Internet access, games, great food, intellectual stimulation, stuff to read.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
...how to meet the right girl without exhausting my introverted self by meeting tons of new people...
On a typical Friday night I am
...at home recording a podcast.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
It seems to be fashionable to refuse to answer this. Maybe I'll try that for a while.
You should message me if
...you're a sharp, clever woman who shares some of my fandoms (and if the overlap isn't 100% so that we can share new things with one another, so much the better!) and you're looking for fun and games, good-natured snarking, exploration, adventure, and romance.
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Dating
--
Ethics
--
Other
--
Sex
--
Religion