51Waterloo, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Soft-hearted techie.

I have been "out of circulation" for quite a while (not incarcerated, just a in exclusive relationships). So although I have been on the 'net since it became public, I am still kind of a n00b at this whole dating-site thing.

I am a 'techie - I love to figure stuff out.

I have some University, read voraciously, and live with my 2 grown kids. We are a pet-friendly household.

I am looking for someone to have fun with. I am polite and well spoken, and if you don't object I will hold doors open for you and light your cigarette for you (if you smoke). It's just the manners I was raised with, I know you can do it for yourself.

I may come across as a little shy at first, but I warm up quickly. I have a great smile (or so my friends tell me), and a slightly wicked sense of humour.

For the heck of it, every time I took Meyers-Briggs, I came up INTP. Just took it again after a 10+ year lapse - got the same result.
What I’m doing with my life
My kids say I am busy being an excellent dad. The dog thinks I spend too much time at work.

I would say that I am just trying to be, if that isn't too Taoist

I am in Tech Support at a company that specializes in "secure communications" (we make middle-ware and phones in Waterloo, you know the company), I troubleshoot servers mostly.
I’m really good at
Translating highly complex technicalities into everyday speech and concepts.

Trouble shooting. I tend to see potential problems earlier than most.

Fixing things - life has taught me not to try to fix people, but I can't help trying to fix a broken machine or situation.
The first things people usually notice about me
The beard, followed closely by either my piecing blue eyes, or my ready smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
This is going to be a bit of a chore.

I READ. Just about everything except romance. Current favourite books: Cryptonomicon, Little Brother, Diamond Age, The Foundation Series, The Book of Lies, The Guns of August, 13 Days, The Neanderthal Parallax series, anything by Asimov, Niven, Clarke, Douglas Adams, or Neal Stephenson. I should throw in Dickens (just finished The Old Curiosity Shop), and Ecco, although I haven't read him in years.

Music: everything from Celtic through the Dead (Kennedy's, Grateful and Can Dance) to Infected Mushroom, with brief stops along the way for the likes of Mozart, Blues Traveller, Dylan, Dave Brubeck or Robert Johnson. Come to think of it, just about anything except most "New Country" or Disco (there are gems everywhere).

As for shows, ages ago I was a stage tech. (hunted props, built sets, hung lights, ran the sound board etc.) so one could say I am, or was, "of the theatre". That lead to brief stint as a Grip/gaff when Toronto had a movie industry. I have a large movie collection, can't really put a genre on it as a whole.

As for food, I'm omnivorous (with a couple of exceptions) and I will never turn down a curry. I can also handle Sri-Lankan kothu roti like a native, and have occasionally found Thai a little bland.
Six things I could never do without
Oxygen, water, food, shelter, fire, and a companion.

Seriously though: my kids, my books, my computers (including the 'net connection), friends, and my sense of self.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Pondering the imponderables. Simple little questions like: What is a just life? How can a good person get by in a less-than-moral world? How much does my dog really understand me? Why did they cancel FireFly and Deadwood?
On a typical Friday night I am
Make a hearty dinner, hang out with the kids and watch a movie or an episode of Walking Dead.

Occasionally out to see live music.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
The most private thing I’m willing to admit here is that I have my 2 grown kids living with me, but I have never been married.
You should message me if
You can laugh at life.
You not only can, but must read.
You would like to meet a polite, well spoken, youthful gentleman of "middle years".
You don't object to an omnivore who is trying to quit smoking gradually.
Any of the above sparks your interest.
Bonus XP for owning a variety of polyhedral dice.
The two of us