TheChemTech
41 Granada Hills, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
TheChemTech
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hello, my name is Edwin.

Like most of you, I'm here for the free toaster giveaway. I kid. Or do I?

My life's journey started a long time ago. Then some stuff happened. Now here I am. And where is that? Well... typing up some information about me that should interest you in some manner should I initiate a 'hello' (or should that be "an 'hello'"?).
What I’m doing with my life
I work with students and instructors in the chemistry department of a local community college as a lab technician. As of late, I've been working more on the instructional aspects of the job than before, and I'm liking it quite a lot.

I plan on working on a Master's degree soon so I can continue on my academic trajectory.
I’m really good at
Spinning a book on my finger.

Acquiring random facts.

Grilling and barbecuing. I prefer charcoal over propane.

If there's one thing that I believe I was put on this Earth for, it's humor. I enjoy making people laugh, especially the knee-slapping, snort-inducing, belly-aching kind.
The first things people usually notice about me
If I'm wearing my glasses: my glasses
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, World War Z, my Biochemistry Textbook

Movies: Mel Brooks movies, Jon Favreau movies, Christopher Nolan movies, and there's a bunch more

Shows: Walking Dead, Battlestar Galactica, Sherlock, The IT Crowd, Hu$tle, Arrested Development, Northern Exposure, M*A*S*H

Music: A lot of variety

Food: A lot of variety
The six things I could never do without
Oxygen, food, and other life necessities are obvious, so I'll say...

Faith, hope, and love, and the past, present and future.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Continuing my education - I've done quite a lot with the BS Biochemistry degree that I finished many years ago, but working at the college has given me insights I wouldn't have had otherwise if I had continued working in the chemical industry.

That special someone - it might sound hokey, but I am still hopeful of meeting her.
On a typical Friday night I am
These are not typical Friday nights, but I do:
visit my brother and his family.
drive down to San Diego to visit my buddy.
try out a recipe (yes, I cook a bit).
hang out with a friend or two or several for dinner and/or movie and/or drinks.

These are what I do infrequently or rarely:
go to clubs (rarely).
go to bars (infrequently).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've intentionally left "Body Type" blank. I think the pictures do more justice. And while we're at it, I'm actually 176 cm in the morning, going down to about 175 (or 5'9") after a day on my feet.

Also, I occasionally do it up and down and sometimes side to side, but mostly prefer it in circles, and as of late, with my left hand...

... brushing my teeth, that is.

Simple Minds "Don't You Forget About Me" sometimes plays in my head when I walk away from people with whom I've just given solid advice on something.
More