34 Virginia Beach, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm Paul but most everyone calls me Paulie. I've been back in the area for about a year now for work after living in Florida for a couple years and then back up in Richmond. I live within a ten minute walk to the ocean and can't imagine living anywhere too far from the water.

I love anything English and follow the Premier League (soccer) quite closely. Especially Liverpool FC.

I have a pretty liberal view of things and still hold out hope that people can inherently be nice to each other.
What I’m doing with my life
I spend most of my time working. I'm a director at WTKR NewsChannel 3 and I work the morning shift. That means I have to wake up around 3:15am during the week. Sometimes I'm part of the show and it's always fun:

I'm a pretty big sports fan so this time of year is great for me. Soccer, hockey, and football are my favorites but I keep up with baseball a little too. I grew up playing hockey so I love to go ice skating. I'm trying to get back into golf as a hobby so I try to go to the driving range once a week. It's not going very well but I'm having fun. I try to make it to the gym a few days a week after work as well.

I'm not the type to go out partying every night anymore. I can keep up when it happens but I'm fine with a night in as well. I love going to see live music. Local, original music or cover bands, there's just something about the sound of live music that makes it better.
I’m really good at
being quick to make a joke or have a snappy response for a conversation. I'm good with computers and other electronics and fixing them. I also love puzzles of every variety: crosswords, sudoku, logic problems, you name it. Also watching Wheel of Fortune or Jeopardy...I hope you don't like losing ;)
The first things people usually notice about me
The pierced lips kind of stand out. Otherwise, just my overall style and dress.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: Music is everything. Way too much to list. I mostly skew towards electronic but enjoy indie rock and some folk as well. Big fan of Bon Iver, Example, Lana del Rey, Two Door Cinema Club, Arcade Fire, the Presets, Cut Copy, Little Comets, Miami Horror, MGMT, Neon Indian, Thursday, Phoenix, Purity Ring, Daft Punk, Ferry Corsten, Above & Beyond, Tritonal.

The two bands I've listened to the most the last ten years and that I can always find the perfect song no matter the moment or mood: Brand New and Coheed & Cambria.

Books: A Song of Ice & Fire series (Game of Thrones). Chuck Palahniuk. Non-fiction history and science books too.

Movies: Super Troopers, Starship Troopers, Hot Fuzz, Go, Borat, Lock, Stock, & Two Smoking Barrels, whatever is playing at the Naro.

TV: Archer is my favorite but Breaking Bad is a close second. Also, I enjoy Mad Men, Game of Thrones, Dexter, Doctor Who, South Park, it's Always Sunny, The League, Family Guy, Futurama, Adventure Time, and I'm not ashamed to say Star Trek

Food: Meeeeeeeeat. And sushi.
The six things I could never do without
-Liverpool Football Club
-My lucky hat and necklace
-Spotify for music
-Roller Coasters
-Monster Rehab Tea+Lemonade (it's delicious and gets me through work)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Different ways I can improve my life or new hobbies to try. I try not to worry about things too far ahead since who knows what will happen in between.
On a typical Friday night I am
Relaxing after a long week of waking up early for work. Sometimes I go out around the oceanfront or meet up with coworkers around Town Center.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I unironically enjoy playing Sims 3 way too much.
You should message me if
-you want to talk music or about upcoming shows/cool shows you've seen.
-you want to trash talk some sports.
-you think going to bed for work at ~7pm is the epitome of coolness...