TheQuietMan2011
54 Dayton, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
TheQuietMan2011
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
"Thanks for noticing me...." - Eeyore (An optimistic pessimist and my favorite resident of the Hundred Acre Wood.)

I am optimistic, hardworking, family-oriented, open, thoughtful, very patient, nurturing, loyal and an excellent listener.

(I’m a ISFJ personality type under the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator or Keirsey Temperament sorter; commonly called a “Protector/Guardian/Defender”. You can Google "ISFJ" it if you want more details.)

I *hate* to ask for directions. Or assistance.

I was raised Protestant and I’m still spiritual, but I rarely attend church.

I’m comfortable with a wide range of people, cultures, and social settings, maybe in part because I've traveled to over 20 countries.

I am the product of Small Town America, and prefer small towns to big cities; but I realize each has its good points and its bad.

I have a military background (with the Air Force) and I was a licensed foster parent (specializing in teen mothers and sibling groups)... So I'm not easily frightened - or shocked... :-)
What I’m doing with my life
I’m the father of four, three boys (ages 20, 18 and 9) and a girl (age 15). They live with their mother, but our split was amicable and we have shared parenting, so I’m still very active in their lives. Plus I'm working 40+ hours a week. So I'm fairly busy.

But I know I need to maintain some semblance of balance in my personal life, and I genuinely miss having a special woman to share things with. So I’m re-entering the dating scene after a long absence.

I’m hoping the internet will be a useful tool to meet someone who I'm not *completely* incompatible with... ;-)
I’m really good at
helping others... That's a broad statement, but it's true...
The first things people usually notice about me
is probably my up-beat attitude... I appear to be in a good mood/having a good day - even when I am not...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite book: Probably Robert Heinlein's "Time Enough For Love"... But Douglas Adams "A Hitchhiker's Guide to the Universe" is a very close second...

Favorite movies: "Monty Python and The Holy Grail"; "Animal House"; "Pharaoh's Army"; "Taking Chance" and "The Quiet Man"...

Favorite musical: "Paint Your Wagon" ( Clint Eastwood *and* Lee Marvin - and they SING!... It just doesn't get much better than that!... LOL...)

Favorite music: Classic Rock, Contemporary Country
UPDATE: At the Rascal Flats concert last month the lead singer mentioned they have been touring for 16 year now. Holy crap! Does this mean I should take "Contemporary" out of the type of Country music I prefer? :-/

Favorite food: Italian (by a hair) followed by Everything Else
The six things I could never do without
Seriously, we can all do without a lot of *things* if we have to... But I hope I will always blessed with...

My Children
My Friends/Extended Family
A Decent Cup of Coffee
Information
Purpose
Love
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what I need to be focusing on next... I'm always juggling multiple things, but I *usually* keep everything airborne... ;-)
On a typical Friday night I am
either with my kids (I have them every other weekend) or just chilling around the house or maybe with friends somewhere...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
is all included in my profile... (I'm completely comfortable discussing private matters one-on-one, I would never post anything truly private online...)
You should message me if
you have any questions for me and/or I sound like someone you'd like to get to know better... :-)
More