Thenethiel
30 Kansas City, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Thenethiel
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a single, 30-year-old, white, hetero, male. I have limited sexual and relationship experience for someone my age, but I’m not a virgin by any means. I am interested in a serious relationship, but I'm also open to casual dating and meeting new people.

I enjoy getting active outdoors (hiking, etc.), and would love to meet someone to do that with. It would also be fun to spend time exploring KC, seeing movies, and playing board games. I appreciate intelligent conversation, especially if it's about something nerdy; I'm a nerd and would love it if you are too. I have several friends who participate in various kinds of polyamorous relationships, and while I'm not specifically looking for that, I am open to being part of one.

I'm an atheist, and I think I would have a hard time dating anyone religious, spiritual, or theist. I don't smoke or drink, and smoking is a deal-breaker for me. I don't mind if you drink, just don't try to get me to. Otherwise, I'm pretty laid back. A college friend called me "the most annoyingly zen person I've ever met."
What I’m doing with my life
I graduated this past December from Texas A&M with my B.S. in Technology Management and began working in healthcare IT in February. My job pays well enough and has regular hours (although, as a night owl, I wouldn’t mind less regular hours). I’m not passionate about it, but it’s stable and will give me the chance to figure out what I’d like my future to look like.

I decided to move to Kansas City to be closer to my family (my family isn’t from here originally, but transplanted to KC in the last few years). I had been rooming with my brother and his wife since I moved to KC but recently got my own apartment where I'm just about settled in.

I’m a health-conscious person in spite of the fact that I’ve been somewhat overweight for most of my adult life. I've been trying to hit the gym after work at least a few days a week, as well as being more active in general, and working on motivating myself to eat better.

After work, if I don't have any errands to run, I pretty much go home and veg out on the computer, watching Youtube and playing video games (unless I’ve got a board game night). On the weekends, I often join my brother and/or sister-in-law in going out to eat, seeing a movie, or finding something fun to do around the city.
I’m really good at
I'm pretty much the definition of "Jack of all trades, master of none" I'm reasonably good at tons of things, but there's not that much that I excel at. Except maybe driving long distances; I can drive with no more stops than are needed for gas every 400-500 miles, and I actually enjoy it too.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I read a huge of stuff but my primary interest is in Science Fiction, especially short stories. Some of my specific favorites would probably be Asimov's Foundation series; Lord of the Rings; and basically anything by Cormac McCarthy
Movies: I love movies in general so it's hard for me to pick favorites, but among my top few would be Blade Runner, Princess Mononoke, Nausicaa, Akira, and There Will be Blood.
Shows: I really don't watch much in the way of TV shows anymore, even on the free side of Hulu. Most of my watching-time is spent on Youtube where I watch a lot of machinist/craftsman videos, since I would like to get into machining as a hobby someday.
Music: I tend to find individual songs I like rather than listening to particular bands, but I do have some that I would call my favorite bands that I will happily listen through a full album or two: Sabaton; Pink Floyd; and Nightwish. In general though I listen to a pretty big variety from classical to new-age to techno/industrial to rock and some metal. I'm not a fan of country, rap/hip-hop, or metal with scream-singing.
The six things I could never do without
Family
A few close friends
The internet (at least until I get old and retire into the mountains)
My car, I like knowing I can just get in it and go wherever I need or want to
Books, gotta keep that brain active
On a typical Friday night I am
Possibly getting dinner with my brother and/or sister-in-law. Or getting dinner for myself somewhere. Getting food is the main goal.
You should message me if
You can accept a man with a substantial LEGO collection.

Or if you just want to, really for any reason.
More