31 Victoria, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi other hopeful cupids! I'm 6Lights, and I'm a jack-of-all-trades in the entertainment industry. I hail from Edmonton and moved out here five years ago for school. I found myself staying around, and eventually got a job in what I love doing most. I'm a massive geek about what I do: I get really into projects and work with a great group of people who are the same way. I'm hoping to meet somebody with some similar interests, but would prefer to try some new things. Read on and see if we're a good match. Cheers!
What I’m doing with my life
Graduated from NAIT in '06 and worked designing piping systems in Alberta for a few years. I currently work as a lighting designer/sales/install/repair guy for a local production may have seen my work at Canada Day, Rifflandia, MusicFest, Sunfest, Jazzfest, Blues Bash and many other events around the city. I plan on staying in this industry as long as I can, because I love it so much. I have run my own mobile DJ business for over 10 years and specialize in weddings!

In my free time (hah!) I enjoy snowboarding, scuba diving, and ultimate frisbee.
I’m really good at
It's tough to say. I'm a jack of all trades and a master of none. I can paint your house, fix a car, rig a stage, do your physics homework, plant a garden, cook (I'm actually pretty good at that)...the list goes on. I like to be certified in things, it's a bit of an addiction.

I'm probably most proud of my baking. I went into baked-goods withdrawal when I moved out here, since grandma wasn't making cookies anymore. I make a killer loaf of banana bread (with or without rum) and focaccia bread; my apple pie is good too!
The first things people usually notice about me
Not glasses? Probably my glasses.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Anything by Douglas Adams, Douglas Coupland; I love the dystopic/utopic style of writing (1984, Brave New World, Fahrenheit 451, etc). A bit of sci-fi as well (Dune, Ender sagas). LOTR of course!

Movies: anything but horror (never enjoyed those much); anything Tarantino, old Eastwood movies, 300, LOTR, Monty Python, anything Kubrick, anything with Jason Statham.

TV: Mad Men, Big Bang Theory, and pretty much everything on the Discovery Channel. Huge Eskimos/Oilers fan!

Music: I like most of anything, with the exception of hardcore metal and really bad pop. Acid Jazz, regular jazz, blues, rock, old school hip hop (Tribe Called Quest, Geto Boys, etc). My music collection is extensive and awesome!

Food: pretty much anything. Sushi once a week or I go nuts. Love Italian, but I really enjoy making my own combinations of things. I do an awesome chili!
The six things I could never do without
My family, my bed, my car, my shower, an internet connection, and my friends.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I like to plan my shows in my head, so I spend a lot of time fleshing out ideas. I'm one of those people who really loves their job, and it tends to permeate my everyday life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually doing an awesome show. If it's not a festival, I sub in at Upstairs and Touch the odd time, and light some local cover bands on a regular basis. If I do manage a Friday off, I can usually be found at home with a book and a pot of tea, or out having a pint of stout with some friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Come on, you didn't think it'd be that easy, did you? Fine: my man crush is Jason Statham. But more because I wish I looked like him.
You should message me if
You're not a bar star and want to meet a genuinely down-to-earth guy (I can provide references!). I can talk politics, policy, and social issues with the best of them but really enjoy a night in on the couch with a blanket and a movie.