29Monroe, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
*I'm in the process of updating my whole profile, just FYI*

Here is a short description of what I'm about and what I'm looking for and then a longer summary:

I try to be a good person and contribute to the world around me in a positive way. I like to create - anything or everything. I question things. I am concerned with the well-being of others. I like to bring happiness. I'd love someone to connect with on any level, whether it be a friendship to a partnership. Someone to share experiences with and care for would be great as well. So if any of that sounds appealing please do contact me! I answer every message and encourage you to drop me a note even if the least bit intrigued.

I am nice guy who is caring and compassionate.
I have a very holistic approach to life and the world.
I love going to the movies.
I really like to read and learn, too. I seem to have an addiction to buying books. I really like to learn about religions and spirituality. I read a lot of media theory and cognitive theory. If I can get my student loans paid off, I'd like to get a Ph.D. and teach and research on the two subjects combined.
I am very artistic and love to be creative. I like to do anything artsy, from painting to acting to writing.
I am a costume designer at heart, now I just need to find a way to make that a lucrative career.

I consider myself to be rather irreverent about many social norms; basically, I do want I want and don't subscribe to impractical expectations. I have my own opinion of how the world should work. My goal in life - as cheesy as it sounds - is to make the world a better place.
I think that I am a rare type of person. At least insofar as I am have a very unique blend of spirituality and scientific belief (not that those two are mutually exclusive), logic and emotion, intuition and reason ... you get the idea.

I am not a gamer/gaymer, but I play games and speak the culture.
I love to bake and experiment with new cooking recipes.
I am mostly interested in men; however, I do have interest in women occasionally. I don't really subscribe to masculine/feminine binaries in gender; it is truly a much more complicated aspect of our personalities and identities. At one point I considered myself transgendered (potentially mtf); however, now as my screen name may indicate, I feel something like the 'third gender' applies more to me since I am at one both masculine and feminine and simultaneously neither. Yay paradoxes!

I am Part Hippie, Punk, and Eccentric Granny
What I’m doing with my life
After finishing an undergrad degree in film and a variety of other things at Vassar in Poughkeepsie, and a post-grad program in Game Design (which brought me to Toronto for 3 years), and not getting into a PhD program in Educational Media at NYU, I was without concrete plans for the future for a year or so. But now, I've just opened my own arts & crafts studio. So if you are at all creative or want to learn a craft or fine art, hit me up! Also, I'm looking for nude models. ;P Just Kidding! (mostly)
I’m really good at
I'm pretty good at being creative and doing things that require artistic talent. I'm also good at taking care of people and their problems. I'm very empathetic and relate to people easily. I'm really into holistic health and I think I am rather good at helping others through pseudo-counseling.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have a unique forwardness that is disarming and kinda charming too.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I LOVE Mystery Science Theater 3000.
Books/authors: Water for Elephants, As I Lay Dying, Gregory Maguire, Paulo Coelho
Movies: Up, Wall-E, the Muppet Movies, Ghost Town, Camille, Hold That Ghost, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Pan's Labyrinth, TransAmerica, Clue
TV: Futurama, Carnivale, Firefly, Buffy, Lost Girl, Xena
Music: Classic rock, new rock alternative, Trip hop, chamber pop, indie stuff, folk, whatever
Food: anything from Asia (but low on spice level), chocolate
Six things I could never do without
a mode of expression
time spent alone
a higher purpose
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Existence, Gender, Humanity, Life & Death, Religion, How to make people laugh
On a typical Friday night I am
Lately I've been working but aside from that: At the Movies, playing board games, reading, TV, random dance parties...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have four piercings. Two are visible, two are not...

I also don't really care for when guys write "I'm attracted to men." or "I'm on OkCupid." in this space. Not sure why; its nothing personal. Don't take offense to it if you have that on you're profile.
You should message me if
You've read this far/like what you see/feel like it. I'll respond to anyone who messages me. I like to meet new people and chat with them, so don't hesitate!

if you explore/read about religions for fun
if you like cheesy sci-fi movies
if you like documentaries
if you like taking walks
if you aren't like anyone you've ever met before
if you care - about anything at all
The two of us