65Berkeley, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm kind, very intelligent, well educated, reasonably well traveled, born & raised in NYC, curious, psychologically minded (like to know what makes people tick), intuitive, philosophically & spiritually inclined (raised Catholic, now with Buddhist tendencies), honest, communicative, straightforward, and a good listener. I'm in excellent physical shape, very active, like to get things done, learn new things, experience new adventures; love to be in nature, swim the waters, breathe the air, walk the terrain, and do it often. That goes for art museums and galleries too (many friends who are artists). I also like to laugh and make others laugh. Politically I'm very left, not afraid of the concept of social democracy, with liberty and justice for all, though I'm not a dogmatist and know how to respect other perspectives. The arts are very important to me (literature, painting, film, music, architecture) and I'm drawn to people who share that predilection. I'm looking for a good, soulful connection with a curious, attractive, intelligent woman, ideally for the long term.
What I’m doing with my life
I've been self employed since birth, work as a General Contractor, a builder/transformer of living spaces, currently finishing up a 5 yr. long rehab of my own place in the Berkley Hills: structural changes, interior design, landscaping: big fun but way too many decisions....
I'm also a writer, a parent, friend, and fellow wanderer of the pathless path. In my off time I love to go for road trips, Napa/Sonoma, Carmel/Big Sur, or locally, Mt. Tam/Bolinas/Pt. Reyes, etc. Good food & drink along the way, sun blazing on the ocean, what more can you ask? Further afield favorites include NYC, coastal New England, the Southwest, Paris, Italy, anywhere Europe. Like to be present in the moment, live & enjoy the simple pleasures, fleeting bright moments, each (intimate) other.
I’m really good at
Writing, listening, building, joking, doing nothing alone or in tandem, walking & talking, wise cracking, complaining, cat napping.
The first things people usually notice about me
My height, I guess, but come to think of it, I've never really thought to ask.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I've had a lifelong love of books, so I wouldn't even know where to begin with that, but if you have a writer you really like I've probably read, or at least know something about, her or him (if not, I can fake it). I mostly read contemporary and classical fiction and poetry. Love film, especially foreign/indie, especially French & Italian, Japanese, Taiwanese. I like rock, jazz, classical, world music, live music. Pretty eclectic in my tastes with food, but Italian always does the trick. And paella. And needless to say, great wine.
Six things I could never do without
Friendship, love, good conversation, laughter, the arts, the fireplace, children, magical water, clouds in the sky.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How I'm gonna retire in this broke down American casino, just like everybody else.
On a typical Friday night I am
Reeling with joy at the promise of the weekend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Will be revealed to the right person at the appropriate time, given the proper stimulants.
You should message me if
Having read the above disclaimers, you feel you're a kindred soul, have a good sense of humor & a twinkle in your eye.
The two of us