28Montreal, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Some random tidbits:

Grad student, lover of the outdoors, passionate researcher, musician, artist, among others.

I'm Paul. I like to run, hike, and camp - pretty much anything that'll get me outside on a beautiful day. I don't know why, but I have a preference for wide open spaces, mountains, and open fields - as opposed to forests or caves. I love to travel but don't get to do it often enough. I love reading though most of the time I end up reading Young Adult fiction from my youth these days. When I was younger, I used to live on a tropical island for a few short but amazing years. I don't keep up to date on current events as much as I should, but I love a good discussion of what's going on and of course, learning about what I'm missing.

Aussi, je parle peu français mais elle est trés mal lol. I'm working on it!
What I’m doing with my life
Researching cognition in fish and chipmunks.
I’m really good at
seeing the big picture, critical thinking, being compassionate. In general though, I tend to be a jack of all trades, good at a lot of things (sports, arts, music, school), but excellent in none.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably that I'm short and asian according to the local demographic.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Wheel of Time series, Dragonlance, Empire Falls, The dalemark quartet, The Making of a Singer, The Memory of Running, Lonesome Dove, Walk Two Moons, The Dark Tower Series, IT, etc. etc.

Movies: Pay it Forward, X-men Trilogy, Amazing Grace, Hero, Crouching Tiger-Hidden Dragon, Water, Ladder 49, The Mission, Amazing Grace, Star Wars, Spiderman trilogy, Gattaca, Bicentennial Man, Gladiator, August Rush, I Am Legend, V for Vendetta, Atonement, etc.

TV: I don't watch much, but I do enjoy Bones, Community, Family Guy, Brothers and Sisters, and Young Justice. Hmm, that's a lot for a guy who doesn't watch much, haha.

Food: Most things - I'm not really picky and I love to cook, though I do have preferences.
Six things I could never do without
Hmm, I feel like these are supposed to be things we could actually quantify but I know I'm going to break the rules....

1. Idealism/optimism. Every day life can appear to suck, but the hope for a better day or better world keeps me going. Life is usually a lot better than we think. It's all about perspective.
2. Food. I like to eat.
3. Untainted natural wilderness. It can't all be about conservation, we gotta have some preservation too. I like my untouched mountains, with landscapes that stretch into the horizon without a human in sight. There is nothing like a quiet day out in the country.
4. Music. My daily inspiration and relaxer. :-). Who could not love the intense emotional experiences we can derive from music?
5. Warm weather and the sun. I need my vitamin D from that sunshine.
6. Dogs. They call them man's best friend and I couldn't agree more.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My future directions - I'm recently considering some serious career changes so this occupies a lot of my thoughts.
On a typical Friday night I am
This is often my down time from a long week, either spent hanging with friends, or at my apartment doing whatever is most relaxing
(which could be watching a tv show, reading scientific articles, an art form of some sort, playing with open source software, or randomly reading stuff online).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a bad habit of taking on too many projects and then not having enough time to finish the most important ones. I've recently made a point to start prioritizing my life.
You should message me if
You would like to and/or have something interesting to say. I enjoy hearing about different people's perspectives on life.

Also, you're not leaping at the reigns to jump into a relationship. I prefer to get to know someone first before committing to a relationship/dating - physical attraction only goes so far and it takes a lot more than that to sustain a committed relationship.

p.s. I'd love to find someone to go running with so let me know if you're a runner!

Note: Upon finishing my degree here, I will probably seek employment in the U.S. (my homeland), though I am open to finding work in Canada. So it's worth considering if you think we might be a good match. That being said, I enjoy making new friends, :-).

Addendum: While the above is true, I should preface that I'm mostly just looking around these days as my time in Canada is limited.
The two of us