39 Mexico City, Mexico
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’m a learner. I’m constantly learning new ways of seeing things from my 7 year old students. I’m always trying to learn about my motivations for doing things, and those of others. I’m learning more about myself and Mexico, and how and why things work (or don’t work) in this city, and I'm looking for opportunities to improve situations, while hoping to inspire my students to be the ones who will make those changes. (I’m a little obsessed with education.)

I’m a photographer – professionally sometimes. I’m an introvert, and though I’ve always had a lot of friends and can be rather social and even outgoing in certain settings, I’d usually prefer to be behind my camera.

I love to do yoga, especially in the sun. I adore playing volleyball and dancing salsa, but don’t do either nearly as often as I’d like. I walk a lot. I don’t have a car, nor do I want one. I love that I get in an hour or two a day of exercise by walking just going to work, the grocery store, running errands, and going to my meditation group.

I don’t have a TV. I have a dog. She is a german shorthaired pointer named Milú. She forces me to go to the woods behind my house at least 3 times a day so she can chase squirrels and I love that she forces me to disconnect from the silliness of life. I know if it wasn’t for her, I would rarely take the time to sit among trees and feel the sun on my face and just be.

People, when they meet me, tend to think I’m very serious. I have a very fun side, but it doesn’t usually come out right away. I do take life too seriously sometimes. Usually my students, my dog, or good friends bring me back to the present and help me see the joy in it all.
What I’m doing with my life
growing... Generally I'm trying to explore different ways of seeing and making sense of the world and growing in the process. As a means of achieving that, I have mostly worked in education trying to help students of all ages reach a greater potential. Born and educated in New Jersey, I started really exploring the world when I lived in (and travelled from) Barcelona for 6 years. 6 years ago I moved to Mexico City for a new adventure. My latest challenge is teaching first grade at a school in Tlalpan, DF.
I’m really good at
connecting. I'm a Malcolm Gladwell's, "The Tipping Point" connector. It doesn't matter what country I live in, it seems I somehow know someone who might solve that problem or who is renting an apartment, or who is looking to adopt that dog you rescued. I've run into people I know in the West Village, on the Ramblas after Spanish class, and in grocery stores all around Mexico City.
The first things people usually notice about me
in Mexico is my height. And my "blonde" hair. I'm not a blonde in most countries, but here my immigration papers say I "legally" am.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I really enjoy reading anything by Malcolm Gladwell, "A Short History of Nearly Everything" by Bill Bryson, "You Can't Be Neutral on a Moving Train" by Howard Zinn, "Mindset" by Dweck. Anything by David Sedaris. "The Red Tent", "Eat Pray Love."
My all time favorite author is probably Mo Willems.

Movie: Amélie

TV: Don't have one, but I watch "The Daily Show" online and sometimes Colbert.

Music: I like Mozart on Sunday mornings. I like cuban, folk, 90s rock, lately I've been listening to Jack Johnson and Jason Mraz and the like. I don't like electronic, reggaeton, or banda, and I don't know current pop music. I adore that my students love the Beatles, so I play them a lot in school.

Food: Mexican, Indian, Thai, Spanish. I don't like chain restaurants. I like to cook good food - mostly vegetarian. I like to eat good food.
The six things I could never do without
the internet (though I'm trying to cut back)
plane tickets
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what dogs would be saying if they spoke English.

how people (especially children) learn.

what I'm eating, and how I'd improve if I were going to cook it next time.

whatever I'm reading... currently "In Defense of Food" and how I want to start growing my own food in my garden here.
On a typical Friday night I am
usually in bed early to recover from getting up at 5:30 all week and teaching 55 seven year olds so I can enjoy Saturday more fully.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I kind of like taking these stupid tests.
You should message me if
you found anything I wrote interesting and you can deal with how far Tlalpan is from the civilized world.

you'd like to come play frisbee with my dog and me.