72Bellingham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I like to work hard and play hard. I thoroughly enjoy life. However, I enjoy life much more when I am in the company of a best friend/woman I love. Being fit is important to me. I don't like to be limited by my physical condition. I love art and performance. Theater is a favorite.

My daughter is 23, graduated last year from UBC in Vancouver. Her area of interest is global resources and sustainable practices in farming. She wants to be a farmer; currently director of education and co-manager of a farm in Canada dedicated to providing the community with organic food, and offering education to children and adults about sustainable agriculture. I think she will do well. It's fun to see her sort out the world and how she should fit in it.

For many years, I produced children's television. Then I ran my own software company--small, fun, hard work. I've worked at a few universities teaching and in administration. For about 10 years I was an information design consultant for companies around Seattle and California. Found myself commuting into Seattle a lot. Not great. But the work was exciting.

I have a PhD in learning and human development. Taught for some years. I have the equivalent of a masters in theater/TV/Film. I enjoy good theater very much. My family used to go to Broadway for shows, museums, great food, music, and people watching.

Bought a 100 year old house four years ago. I think I needed to absorb myself in a big project after my divorce. The house is in a great neighborhood and has great bones. But it needed everything. The remodeled kitchen is beautiful--cherry, granite, tile, glass mosaic, stainless. The living and dining rooms and den are comfortable with wonderful southern light and a view of he bay. Renovation is time consuming but the payoff is wonderful. I've restored several other houses and built one. (Hmmmm, so I know what renovation is like; why am I doing it again??)

Doing fun stuff with someone I care about is great, and I miss that. I enjoy being at home, cooking, gardening, out for dinner/performance/movie, traveling to a fun destination, biking the islands, hiking or skiing around Mt Baker. I enjoy dinner parties and enjoy having people over to my in-progress home.

I do a lot of outdoor and sports activities. In the summer, I hike nearly every week in the Cascades. I bike a lot and enjoy my tandem. My passion is squash--play 2-3 times a week. I got back to tennis three years ago and enjoy the social aspect of it as well as the sport. Ski lots in the winter. It's fun skiing the steep and deep--but usually exhausting. Sailing has been a passion for most of my life; love being in and around the islands.

I am happy, fit, and inquisitive
What I’m doing with my life
Producing children's television, developing educational software, working at two universities, and designing information access for large companies was always rigorous and demanding, and required intensive writing. About six years ago, I decided to do something totally different. I've always loved houses--architecture, their relationship to the land, and how they can be improved. I now work in real estate. I am having fun. The group I work with is very professional and we are like family--we ski, hike, sail, eat, party together.
I’m really good at
I make furniture as a hobby. Most of the furniture in my home is made by me. I can fix just about anything. My daughter used to call me "Daddy fix". I'm good at building community where I work. I am becoming very good at my job. I'm good at playing hard.
The first things people usually notice about me
I am very friendly and happy. I am very fit and active. I like to wear nice clothing--I love fabric and good design.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like fiction and non-fiction. I don't like "popular" or "pulp" novels. I tend to like more serious books. I really like books that win Pulitzer and Booker awards. Just completed "Game Change"--about the previous election. Great book; startling to discover what jerks our elected officials can be (yeah, I know, naive me).

I have the equivalent of a masters in film and theater. I like to watch well made movies--just about any genre as long as it is good (except for gory movies).

I like most music but favorites are classical, jazz, stuff by the Eagles and Chicago. Stevie Ray Vaughn and Joe Bonamasa are great. But so are lots others.

Like most food but really like Thai, Italian, French, Japanese. Don't like sushi.
Six things I could never do without


Exercise--ski, squash, hiking, biking, sailing.




(not necessarily in that order)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Restoring my home. Building my business.
On a typical Friday night I am
Maybe tennis or squash. Maybe a movie. Maybe jazz at a local venue, or going to Seattle for a concert. Maybe relaxing. Or sharing dinner with a friend.
You should message me if
I'd like to meet someone who is fit. It's a plus if they also like to bike, hike and sail. Someone with whom I can have good conversations about life, global and national issues, us. Someone who is warm and affectionate--I am very affectionate, and it's great to be with someone who also likes affection. Someone who likes the arts, especially performance--theater, dance, music. Someone with whom I can connect spiritually. I want a soul mate. Someone who loves people, loves to laugh, loves to see others laugh, loves to engage with other people. Someone who, with me, will be in touch with the universe and the universe will accommodate us (maybe too heavy for a profile on a dating site).
The two of us