40Beaverton, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
TMI/TL;DR; -- Polyamorous married athletic literate semi-geek rocker goth seeking fit and fun women for adventure and friendship with the possibility of more, but please, do read on...

I consider myself one of the original forerunners of the growing breed of computer geek that has reasonable social skills and likes active outdoor sports including bicycling, kayaking, snowboarding, roller blading, and rock climbing, plus training in two sword fighting styles and shotokan karate.

Add to that acting in stage and film productions, plus I do nature and portrait photography and even model every rare once in a while.

Occasionally I get my nerd on and host PC FPS/RTS gaming LAN parties or play some RPGs (D&D, Shadowrun, White Wolf/WotC stuff, etc).

My profile name is a reference to often feeling like the day is not long enough, that tomorrow will come too soon.
What I’m doing with my life
As my details say, I skipped (dropped out of) university and went straight to work in the San Francisco bay area working with computers. I expect to be a software developer (aka programmer) for as long as my mind stays healthy. I love it. In Jan 2015 I left my stable longterm job in Redding, CA to move to Portland, OR to pursue new technology opportunities. So far it has worked out excellently, with an even better job and I'm loving the area and possibilities of what Portland has to offer, both career-wise and socially.

Besides work, I am also very active in martial arts. I was teaching a free weekly class in sword fighting (picture the movies Gladiator and Braveheart) before I moved and am in the process of growing a new class here in Portland.
I’m really good at
Honestly, I'd have to say I'm good at whatever I put my mind to. The first things that come to mind are computers, martial arts, rock climbing, roller blading, bicycling/biking, snowboarding, hiking, backpacking... etc. ;)
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm pretty certain my long blonde hair catches everyone's eyes first. Depending on how recently I had it trimmed, it falls in long straight lines to between the small of my back and just shy of my belt line.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
When the day is done, I like to just chill and read a good sci-fi or fantasy novel or kick back watching a movie. I generally don't go for stupid or low-brow humor, but a higher quality comedy or an action or adventure flick is great.

I love to read! Mostly I am interested in science fiction and medieval fantasy novels, though occasionally I'll read something else. I have enjoyed a great many books, but some key authors are Larry Nivan, Isaac Asimov, Ursula Le Guin, Anne McCaffrey, Greg Bear, Orson Scott Card, Peter Hamilton, William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, and I have enjoyed Margaret Weis, Tracy Hickman, R. A. Salvatore, and Piers Anthony in the past, though lately their writing has not been as appealing. I'd like to do some writing some time, too, but I never make the time. One of these years, I'll do nanowrimo.

I have a number of movies and of course NetFlix and Amazon Prime which has been awesome for the instant play! Favorites include Star Wars, Hackers, Fifth Element, The Professional (aka Leon), Princess Bride, Almost Famous, Moulin Rouge, Across the Universe, So I Married an Axe Murderer, Gladiator, The Crow, MirrorMask, Boondock Saints, American Pop, Ghost in the Shell, Asoka, and several more.

As for music, I am very much into rock, metal, and alternative including the industrial, goth and darkwave sub-genres, plus trance and electronica are really good, too, especially as more background-type tunes. Specific favorites are Metallica, Garbage, NIN, Rob Zombie, Metric, Evanescence, TATU, Depeche Mode, Type-O-Negative, Cruxshadows, Stabbing Westward, Nirvana, Ladytron, Aerosmith and U2, just to name a few. My preferred dancing style is basically a form of interpretive free style martial arts to a good techno beat. Or head banging. ;D

Historically I was a little picky with my food but I'm getting better. I still can't stand chunks of tomato, however. I really enjoy meats of most kinds and preparations, but I'm trying to be more ecologically-aware, so I'm open to alternatives. Ethnically, I like foods from all around the world, but my favorites include pizza, Indian and Thai curry, sushi, lasagna, and steak - YUMMY! (not all at the same time, of course)
Six things I could never do without
Could never do without? Stupid question. However, for the science of OKC, let's list a few things I like most. Computers, reading, martial arts, good health, flirting, and the outdoors i.e. nature.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
There are so very many things that I would do and change if I only had the time and power to do so. We mortals are but twinkling glimmers in the grand scheme of things, short-lived ember sparks rising from the bonfire of humanity into the ashy sky of tomorrow.

Sometimes I just ponder humanity, all our achievements, and all that we have yet to accomplish. I would love to be immortal, to be able to see the changes in our world and society as time slips by. There is no doubt in my mind that star systems, worlds, and amazing technologies and discoveries await us and I want to be there to witness it and live it. I am a dreamer but rooted in reality.
On a typical Friday night I am
I can be a geek, but I am also thoroughly into getting out and having a good time.

I love me some goth clubbing, and I need more friends that do, too. Presently I periodically go solo to Hive, Recycle, and Knochen Tanz. I'd love some company and to hear of other good goth scenes you enjoy!

Weekends are my time to play hard. When the snow is good, I head for the snow park to snowboard or ski. I would like to get out backpacking at least once or twice each summer, and I always at least go car camping. I've got my sit-in kayak and a 2007 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R motorcycle. Then there are the special martial arts training, sparring, and sword fighting events. I'd also like to getting back into regular rock climbing, something I've missed for several years.

When I'm not heading out of town, its nice to catch a movie or just hang out at my place or a friend's. I'll catch a live band occasionally, and I like karaoke, but I'm really not into the bar scene (expensive drinks and too loud to communicate), with the exception that I do love goth clubs and have been enjoying the PDX goth scene.

I helped form a Rocky Horror Picture Show / RHPS cast, My Favorite Obsession, in the Redding/Red Bluff area in 2004. It took up a lot of my time, and we had a good 7 year run before things died off. I've become a significant part of the local RHPS scene with the Clinton Street Cabaret (and Theater) and you can often find me there late Saturday nights.

Lastly, I love some good tabletop RPG or miniatures with the right group of people. I haven't gamed much in the past several years, but it is still a big part of my roots, and its just a matter of finding the right DM/GM/storyteller and some fun players.

p.s. First the blog/journal sections disappear, now the "Hey, I'm bored and looking for something fun to do" is gone from the mobile app. What's up, OKC?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
"The most important thing I ever learned was just to love and be loved in return" (Moulin Rouge)

I am polyamorous ("poly") by nature.

I am married to sa_briel (she hasn't bothered to update her profile in a while). It is worth noting she is more comfortable with me seeing women that are themselves in a consensual open marriage or committed relationship, but it is not a requirement.

p.s. I'm a huge flirt AND I crush pretty easily. If I like someone, I try to just say so, no games or being coy. This means i may come on pretty strong at first. I hope you can match my candor with good communication, and if I'm ramping up too fast, just say so. Thanks. :)

p.p.s. A real confession: I have some photos with my guitar... but honestly, I can't play more than a few chords (yet). Some day, maybe I'll make more time for it. ~sigh~
You should message me if
Tell me what you like about my profile. Hell, tell me what you DON'T like about my profile. ;)

I'm a very active guy as I have indicated. Health and fitness are important to me. You'll have to be at least somewhat in shape to keep up. If you're into outdoors sports like the above, we've got some good starter material. ;)

It would be great if you were open to the idea of polyamory (but not required if you're just looking for an activities friend). I am looking for folks of like mind for fun, adventure, and hopefully more. See "The most private thing I'm willing to admit here" above.

Last, I'm generally very open and live-and-let-live, but the more religion that I am confronted with, the more atheist I become. It's a logic and rationalist thing.

With all that said, feel free to message me if you feel we have something in common, or even if you just like my profile. I'll try to respond in kind. :)

p.s. Although I have the best of intentions, history has shown that I am not so very good at long distance, so though I am happy to correspond, there are often large gaps as daily life intervenes. :(
The two of us