63Los Angeles, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I have been gone from this site for quite a while because I met a truly wonderful woman here and I want to thank OK Cupid for that. And, while we weren't the life long partners we wanted to be, my life was, is and will forever be enriched for having known her. I just re-read this and the phrase "having known her" sounds like she died. In reality she is one of my best friends, we are just not a couple.

Now back to the search for my bashert. I'm a good guy; I am affectionate, very caring and honest to a fault. I am happy, well adjusted and desire someone who shares these characteristics to share my (and their) life.

I am socially liberal/ fiscally conservative. I am a hunter; I believe everyone should own a gun; affordable healthcare should be in the Bill of Rights; everyone should have the right to marry who they love, and a woman has the right to choose. Are you still there? Good, then read on...

What I'm looking for is relatively simple: an attractive, intelligent woman with a good sense of humor. Someone who is affectionate, caring, considerate, loyal, appreciative and wants a man who offers the same qualities. If you are looking to cultivate a real relationship with a destination, contact me. Tell me what your physical, emotional & psychological, desires and requirements are, and I will tell you about mine. It all begins with chemistry. Chemistry is everything!

My dislikes are: liars, wasting time, inconsiderate people and tomboys (I don't mean I dislike women in pants or jeans or any thing like that; but I'm NOT AT ALL attracted to the type of woman who doesn't wear make up and nail polish. Oh, and I HATE WIGS. So, if you wear a wig or don't wear nail polish please do not bother to contact me.
What I’m doing with my life
Making a difference and planning to make a BIG difference. One of the most important things in my life is to leave this world a better place for my having been here. I am a Lector, Pastoral Council member, former youth minister and I chair an endowment that supports Catholic education. Also, I am a single parent of an extraordinary 20 year old daughter. I'm a snowboarder, surfer, dirtbiker and own a hang glider. Oh, and I am also brilliant, funny, and if you can't tell, modest too.
I’m really good at
A lot of things (see, told ya I was modest!), the thing I am good at and most proud of are my parenting skills. I have two grown sons and my daughter recently graduated Cum Laude and a National Merit Scholar from high school and is now Premed at Harvard.

I am a Program Manager in Information Technology Projects & Strategic Planning and a writer; I had a syndicated column and I used to write television (as a paid professional not a wanna be).
The first things people usually notice about me
I am a big guy (no not a FAT guy). I am 6'4" 219lbs and my friends say my smile and laughter are contagious (but what do they know).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Almost anything by Kurt Vonnegut especially Welcome to the Monkey House.
I love movies , theater and yes Opera; and my all time favorites are:
SciFi~ Dune
Drama~ 12 Angry Men
Comedy~ The Waterboy
Western ~ Silverado
Action~ Ironman
Opera~ La Boheme is what I say, but the truth is Pagliacci
Play~ Cyrano de Bergerac (the Brian Hooker version)
Musical ~ The Music Man & Damn Yankees (it's a toss up)
Love Story~ I am waiting for the right person so that we can write our own.

I love many many varieties of music, everything from Dudamel to Gangstagrass to Inuit and Tuvan Throat Singing.

Seafood is my favorite meal, but there are few types of food that I dislike.
Six things I could never do without
Excluding the obvious (God, air, sustenance etc.)
I could not do without:
(not necessarily in that order)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I spend a lot of time thinking about everything from the meaningful to madness, from the major to minutia. ...and I enjoy discussing it all just as much. I am at home discussing "Face The Nation" or "Seinfeld" reruns.
On a typical Friday night I am
Currently, there are no typical Friday nights for me, however, I am open to everything from a formal affair to a midnight picnic or just snuggling on the couch in front of the television.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
C'mon who would admit something that they actually thought of as private here in this "public" forum. Let's email and talk, then meet. If we have chemistry, we will get to know each other and there will be nothing that I won't share.
You should message me if
If you are looking to cultivate a real relationship, one with a destination.
Tell me what your physical, emotional & psychological, needs, desires and requirements are, and I will tell you about mine. Maybe together we can create something; a friendship, a love, a life.
If I haven't frightened you away yet read this:
*I have an extremely busy life and it can take weeks to schedule new things into it. This is a plus for me since I prefer to exchange emails for at least a couple of weeks before we talk on the phone. Then I usually talk (to one woman at a time) for another few weeks before our first date. I am extremely patient and I find that this process weeds out the crazies. It seems the crazies and stalkers are not patient and cannot wait this long. I have had women who've only met me by email simply show up at my office and even my daughter's volleyball games. So if this process is not for you, I understand and good luck to you.
The two of us