TravelFool23
56 Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
TravelFool23
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was born and raised in the deep south. I moved away long ago and have become much more liberal but there are a few things from my southern upbringing that I value. I believe that a gentleman respects a lady. Picking up the dinner tab and making sure all the doors get opened are ways that I like to show respect. It makes me feel good to do that. I very much do NOT believe that a woman’s place is in the home but I do value a traditional homemaker and I love a woman who wants to take care of me. I am fine with some traditional male/female roles but I value independence and intelligence in a woman. I am a pretty smart guy looking for a pretty smart woman who has intellectual interests.

I have a very healthy dose of geek in me. I enjoy my geek lifestyle and will require someone who is geek friendly. I also have a social side and love a good gathering but if you are looking for the snappy dressing life of the party then you can stop reading now. Note that I did say geek and not nerd. Subtle but important distinction. You will never find me dressed like a Klingon not that I find anything wrong with dressing like a Klingon mind you.

I love to travel. I have had extra pages added to my passport twice mostly traveling around Asia while I spent two years living in China. I have also been all over America and most of Europe. Weekend trips to Portland, Vancouver or the San Francisco Bay Area are great. Love to do that once a month or so. I also love longer vacations 2-3 times a year. For my next big vacation I want to either go back to Europe or go to Australia. You will need to enjoy travel almost as much as I do. If you love it more that is ok as well. I don't spend much time on beaches although I do love beaches. I get bored quickly lying in a beach chair. I would rather go diving or snorkeling.

I am a fan of live theater. Once upon a time I had season tickets to the Seattle Rep but have been having trouble finding someone to go with me lately. Definitely message me if you want to go to a show!

I live in Wallingford and I like it here. City life has been good to me. I've spent time in suburbia as well and that has its value but right now I enjoy the city. I don't see ever moving back to the suburbs but things do change so I keep an open mind.

I have a grown son almost finished with law school at UW and a 2 year old granddaughter. Very proud of my family.

I am looking for someone around my age that lives in or around the Seattle area. I do not have a specific radius in mind but I am not interested in a relationship that is mainly long distance. Otherwise I am open to meeting all types. I am not into long email exchanges. Let's get together and see what happens! If you like my profile let me buy you dinner and we can figure out in 30 minutes what we would never know in email. I am always happy to get your email though so please feel free to make first contact.

***IMPORTANT NOTE*** I am not looking for games or anything casual. I am looking to begin a serious, long term, monogamous relationship with someone who is looking for the same and has the time and energy for it. If you think that you may not have time in your life for a relationship that involves seeing each other at least twice a week then please pass me by.
What I’m doing with my life
I am a software developer and I truly love my job. It is also my hobby. I spend a lot of time playing with computers and other electronic toys.
I’m really good at
I am good with computers. Also love fine dining and am an experienced international traveler.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite book of all time is Enders Game. I also enjoyed the movie but learning what a terrible homophobe that Orson Scott Card is has really diminished that for me. I am currently reading The Dinner by Herman Koch because my son really liked it.

I have too many favorite movies to mention. Casablanca is perhaps the greatest film every made but I do not watch it so often anymore.

Same with restaurants. I eat at 74th St Ale House a lot because it is close to my house. I also love Blueacre Seafood, El Gaucho (the one in Seattle), Gorgeous George's, The Stumbling Goat and Assagio. That is a sampler of my favorites anyway. The Tom Douglas places are also nice. Too many!
The six things I could never do without
My many computers
My phone (really counts as a computer too and I very seldom actually talk on it)
Good coffee
Sunshine and activity on a sunny day
Travel
Good food
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Well computer problems are usually not far from top of mind. My next travel destination is never far either. Retirement and the next phase of my life are starting to become more common themes now as well.
On a typical Friday night I am
Depends on if I am traveling or not. Always love a good travel weekend. At home it would have to be dinner with friends on Friday, a nice hike on a sunny Saturday followed by dinner at a great restaurant and either live theatre or a good film. That covers Saturday too so sue me.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Most nights I sleep on my sofa. I have a very nice bed I just usually prefer the sofa to an empty bed. Looking forward to sleeping in the bed more when I have someone to help make it warm.
You should message me if
If you live in the Seattle area, are truly single and roughly my age, and are ready for a real relationship then send me an email! I like it when women make first contact.
More