Triplecat
26 Saint Paul, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Triplecat
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
*I don't really like this section so it'll probably just be a permanent work in progress*

My name is Jacob. I was born and raised in California, went to college in NY, moved to Austin, TX after that, and currently living in Maplewood. I strive to be honest, open, non-judgmental, and empathetic, and I enjoy serious conversation about things philosophical or practical. But I also like just hanging out, shooting the shit, and generally being silly and sarcastic. I'm not exactly outgoing, but if you are I open up pretty quick. Into cats, science, nerdy stuff, video games, humor, craft beer, feminism, geology, Netflix, and all sorts of other stuff. I'm married and just looking for friends.
What I’m doing with my life
Got undergrad degrees in geology, creative writing, and geology. Just started grad school this fall at UMN School of Public Health for an MS in environmental chemistry. Working as a paperboy and building attendant to meet the bills. Trying to write but often finding myself with writer's block. Raising all our fuzzy children (3 cats and a dog). Bought a house recently and working on improving it. Trying to pay off all our debts (yay student loans!)
I’m really good at
Figuring things out or learning new things. Typing. Reading. Writing when I'm not being self-critical. Being logical. Raising cats. Saving money. Making dutch babies.
The first things people usually notice about me
How tall I am, my hair when it's longer and curly/wavy. You'll have to let me know what else.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
For books, I like mostly sci-fi or fantasy type stuff, some of your standard great literature, and non-fiction as long as the topic is interesting. Ender's Game, Catch 22, Hunger Games, Harry Potter, and Lord of the Rings are some that jump to mind but honestly I'll probably read anything if someone recommends it to me.

For movies and shows I like most genres but, like with books, I prefer more sci-fi/fantasy stuff, and smart comedy. Inception, Lord of the Rings, BTTF, Hot Fuzz, 28 Days Later, Star Wars, Dr. Who, BSG, Star Trek, Always Sunny, Daily Show, Adventure Time, Louie, Arrested Development, Parks and Rec. I dislike most reality TV, cop dramas, and while I enjoy your average big dumb action movie I wouldn't say they're actually good.

For music, I'll listen to pretty much everything unless it's crude or pointless (exceptions for intentionally or unintentionally hilarious though, like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_yomQw30-To), but my preference (stuff I'll listen to with headphones or loud in the car) is generally for prog-rock/-metal. Porcupine Tree, Stephen Wilson, Opeth. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycYewhiaVBk

I like edible food.
The six things I could never do without
I. My wife
II. Our pets
III. Good music
IV. Good books
V. Internet access
VI. Neat rocks. I guess the world and nature in general, but, you know, geologist and all that.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Work, writing, cats, which video game I want to play, how terrible people are and how hopeless progress often seems to be, thinking about thinking about things, rocks.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually just at home watching some Netflix or playing some video games. Occasionally I do like to go out and get some food, go to a quieter bar, go see a movie, or just hang out with friends wherever.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I herped so hard I derped.
You should message me if
You see anything you like, you're looking for a friend, you want to ask me a question, or just because you feel like it.
More