35Manitou Springs, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Here's the basics:

I'm friendly, outgoing, and independent. I love both kids and animals, bratty middle schoolers and reptiles included. I'll take a manual transmission over an automatic any day of the week. I am intelligent and well educated, laid back and easy to get along with. I have been a professional stagehand, photographer, nanny, creative director, tutor, bartender/server and teacher. I think the 1965 Shelby Cobra 427 (not to be confused with a Shelby Mustang) is the sexiest car ever made.

I've lived in 5 different states and two countries. I've traveled all over the world from major metropolises to the middle of nowhere in third world countries and every trip I take just leaves me wanting another. I fully intend on setting foot on EVERY continent, seeing as much of the world as I possibly can in my lifetime, and I want my partner, and eventually children, right there by my side. This is not to say that I want to be constantly moving, I grew up that way and do NOT want it for my kids. I want to live someplace I love, put down roots and stay there long term, while taking international vacations whenever possible. :-)

I definitely have a silly streak, so if you can't relax and goof around now and then we won't work out, but on the flip side I can't deal with a 24/7 class clown either. Likewise, if you party all the time, are just looking for some arm candy with nothing upstairs, or want someone who will just agree with you all the time, then I'm not your girl. However, if you want an intelligent and deeply caring woman with a sharp sense of humor who knows what she wants and isn't afraid to disagree with you or give you sh*t when you deserve it...well then say hello. :-)

I've been on my own and taking care of myself since I was 17 but I still long to have someone to take care of me now and again. I know what I want and I'm not into wasting anyone's time so if you are interested in something real, let me know.

My view on life can pretty much be summed up in a few quotes....

"Be the change you wish to see in the world"

"A happy person is not a person in a certain set of circumstances, but rather a person with a certain set of attitudes."

"We don't stop playing because we grow old - we grow old because we stop playing"
What I’m doing with my life
I run the faith formation program at one of the Unitarian churches in town which basically means I provide programing for children, youth and adults to facilitate their development toward becoming spiritually mature free-thinkers (and yes atheists, agnostics and humanists can still be spiritually mature)......if that sounds like a bunch of mumbo jumbo to you go google Unitarian Universalism and then get back to me.

Oh and I'm teaching myself how to play the guitar. :-)
I’m really good at
Cooking, which I do much more of when I have someone/people to cook for. Empathy. Being there for the people in my life. Working with kids and teens. Being silly. Being a social chameleon and keeping cool in a crisis.
The first things people usually notice about me
My curly hair (look at my other pics) or my smile
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Generally speaking I'm terrible at "favorites" - I enjoy a wide variety of things for completely different reasons and have a very hard time placing any one above the others, but here's a list of some things I enjoy:
Books: "Eat, Pray, Love", "Water for Elephants", "Pillars of the Earth", "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" (all 3 books in the series), "Acts of Faith", "The Longest Trip Home", Harry Potter (all)...

Movies: Love Actually, Juno, Life is Beautiful, Serenity, For Love of the Game, pretty much any sports movie, Lord of the Rings, Finding Nemo...

TV Shows: Firefly, Scandal, True Blood, Big Bang Theory, Haven, Parenthood, The Tudors, Mythbusters...

Music: Norah Jones, Incubus, RHCP, John Mayer, Keb' Mo', Samuel Barber, Sarah Bareilles, Mumford & Sons, Eric Whitacre, Simon & Garfunkel, James Taylor, India Arie, Guster, Dispatch...

Food: Thai, Mexican, Japanese, Italian, whatever I'm in the mood to cook/bake.
Six things I could never do without
(ignoring the obvious and literal answers of air, water, food, shelter...)
People I love
Having children in my life (in some way)
Seeing the stars at night
Access to nature
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What the future holds.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out tango dancing, hanging with friends, or home practicing my guitar and chilling with my pup.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am much more complex than I may seem and I'm irrationally self-conscious about my hair.
You should message me if
The two of us