UnoriginalGator
31 Durham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
UnoriginalGator
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My pet penguin's name is Remington Wentworth III. He is an Adelie penguin.

Remington loves traveling and fishing, dislikes grouchy people, and has one leg that's slightly longer than the other. I had a shirtless pic up for a while, but Remington advised me to take it down (apparently I was embarrassing the other guys on here). He's a pretty exceptional friend. While he doesn't often venture away from black-and-white, he's working hard to refine his fashion sense.

Remington loves hip-hop. Explaining how a little Adelie from the Antarctic Peninsula came to be a hip-hop fan would be exhausting. I'd say you could ask him yourself, but he is living back at nest with his girlfriend. Since he's not around anymore, I figure I'd see if I could find a stopgap replacement on OKCupid.
What I’m doing with my life
Working with sharks, sea otters, and turtles, I finished a PhD in marine biology then researched treatments for neonatal brain damage, in human babies, not fish... figure that one out for yourself and get back to me. Basically, I'm smart, and am using my brain to do cool things, while traveling to new places and experiencing life. After all, life is just the Universe experiencing itself. Now I'm getting my MD at Duke.
I’m really good at
sarcasm.
The first things people usually notice about me
are usually incorrect.

I am really good at profoundly changing people's first impressions of me. Not sure I understand why yet though. I think I'm just a complex person that doesn't fit well into the boxes we all draw when first meeting someone, so people typecast me as a lot of really funny and different personality types.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Vonnegut/Asimov/GRRM/Feynman/Murakami.

Many

Currently? The Leftovers, Silicon Valley, GoT (so basically whatever HBO does), and Rick & Morty.

Rap.

Everything. I seriously love food. Seafood is the only thing I shy away from. Going out to new restaurants is one of my favorite hobbies, especially when paired with urban hiking (aka walking around a city).
The six things I could never do without
-A commercial-grade ice box. Things would get too warm for Remington otherwise.

-A boat with a slide on the side for my little man to get into the water.

-Internal rhyme schemes in rap, and varied flows.

-Skype. Antarctica has surprisingly good connectivity.

-Sonder.

-Saltwater + sun
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What to put in these boxes.
On a typical Friday night I am
Cooking. Meeting friends for dinner, drinks, and bar games. Watching a movie. Going to the gym/boxing/playing hockey. Being on a boat. Traveling. Maybe even playing a video game, going to a sports game, or doing some writing/reading.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'll date you for your dog. You'll probably think this is a sarcastic statement until reality hits you three months from now.
You should message me if
You want to break traditional gender roles and approach me, or you want a travel companion. I've been around the world and visited every continent (yep, all 7), and am always looking for suggestions of where to go next.

I joke around a lot on here, because, you know, it's OKCupid. But in all seriousness, I am a kind and compassionate person, and am much smarter than your average bear. I value happiness, love, and family over everything else (especially career). Life is short and needs to be fully lived and explored. I'm looking for someone that shares these values, is monogamous, and wants to grow with someone in a mutually positive and supportive relationship. I have a very full and rich life, and look forward to sharing my experiences with someone special, whether that sharing lasts a few months or decades.
More