UrbanAndActive
32 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
UrbanAndActive
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi! I'm Laura. I'm single, independent, playful, and looking for the right fit. I spend my 8-5's advocating for a passion of mine, and fill in the space between with all of my other loves. I have been blessed with incredible friends, many of whom I skip over to another country with each year to run a marathon and gain some culture. While I run marathons for my own desires and health, and to continually push the envelope, I also train while raising money for cancer research and to have the honor of running for my loved ones who have had the misfortune of having their name drawn. I've run 9 marathons, 1 ultra marathon and countless other distances over the last 5 years and am training for the NYC Marathon this fall! I can't wait!

While I love to stay active and am always up for an adventure, I am also cerebral, a knowledge seeker, and find peace in stillness. Reading, meditation, and my yoga practice help make me me.

My family is very important to me. We get along insanely well and my friends often comment on how lucky I am to have the family dynamics we have. I know this, but it doesn't hurt to be reminded every once in a while. I am an involved aunt, have the best friend I could have in my sister, call my mom after rough days, always meet my brother for a beer on our way off the mountain, and don't know what I would do without my dad during the house inspection process I've been going through lately in trying to find a house. They are really great people.

If any of this resonates with you, send me a note! If we're looking for the same things in life and a partner I will not hesitate to write back. If you don't hear back from me, it's likely my loss, but best of luck on the search!

IG: ultrayogini
What I’m doing with my life
Reading bricks of books and writing online posts for grad school, breaking a sweat, washing camp dirt out of my hair in a cold mountain river, traveling to only the coolest places for work and even cooler places for pleasure, running 50k, opening up my hips, trying new things that scare me, standing on my hands, j'apprend francais, being the best aunt EVER!
I’m really good at
Going through the flow, on my mat, in a heated room.

Keeping a running commentary with my sister while watching The Walking Dead.

Hitting trails as often as possible, whether carrying an overnight pack, wearing trail runners, cruising on two skis, being tugged by a dog leash, you name it.

Being social but also taking time for myself to stay in for the night, create a healthy meal, and crack open whatever I am currently indulging in (meaning both vin rouge and a good read).
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm a positive person and am generally quite happy. I try to find the good in things while mixing in a dose of realism.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books? I can't get enough. A few faves: Murakami, Krakauer, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Cheryl Strayed, and Donna Tartt.

I love movies but don't watch enough of them. Faves? Love Me If You Dare, Away We Go, The Way Way Back, Hector and the Search for Happiness, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, The Intouchables, Samba. I am binging on French foreign films these days.

I am not big on television but The Walking Dead and Stranger Things have me hooked. New Girl makes me smile and Parks and Rec slays me. Does Garrison Keillor and Prairie Home Companion count as a show? If so, yes to that too.

Podcasts are a bit of an addiction for me. My weekly podcasts fixes come in the form of More Perfect, Stuff You Should Know, Slate Political Gabfest, Dear Sugar, This American Life, Serial, Invisibilia, TED radio hour and RadioLab.

Music I can listen to all the time: The Tallest Man on Earth, Brandi Carlile, The Pixies, Tame Impala, Sigur Rós, First Aid Kit, Neko Case, Lana del Rey, The Head and the Heart, Nathaniel Rateliff, St. Motel, Rilo Kiley, Bey, The Wild Ones, Fleetwood Mac, Jose Gonzales, and Alt-J.

I love kale salads and bacon cheeseburgers equally.
The six things I could never do without
1 - My niece and nephew
2 - Any adventure that gets my heart pumping and my lungs full of fresh air
3 - Pages (No kindle, no thank you)
4 - Airplanes (too many places to see in this one huge world)
5 - My Subaru (to get me into the forest), and my Cannondale (to get me around town)
6 - The Pacific Northwest
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How I can check off another item on my 35x35 list which is comprised of 35 adventures I need to have between the ages of 30 and 35. Next on my list: climb at Smith Rock, build a house for habitat for humanity, and ride in the naked bike ride.

Portland homes and the housing and rental market here. I've taken a break from home shopping (because it's freaking ridiculous out there!) but looked at over 50 homes last summer/fall/winter and was crushed by both offers not accepted and poor inspections on those that were. Home buying is stressful and emotional and takes up a lot of time and mental space but I'm hopeful that my time is coming.
On a typical Friday night I am
So many things... But most commonly hitting up a hot yoga class, heading out for a weekend camping trip, going to bed early to prepare for an early Saturday morning mountain climb or trail run, reading, or going to Laurelhurst for a cheap movie and pitcher of cider.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a major crush on Peter Sagal. He is a total babe magnet.
You should message me if
You want to climb a mountain with me one day, and just chill in the sun the next.

You are adventurous and like to try new things, travel to new places and do things out of the norm. You love to get outside and get moving. And you want all of these things in a lady as well.

You're interested in finding a true connection, not just a quick hang and bang.
More