38 Vancouver, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Who and why I am as I am:

I have an amazing family with inspiring grand parents who took me on numerous out door adventures in the forest, on mountains and in the water. They challenged social norms concerning gender, sexuality, race and religion and taught their progeny the same. My aunts and mom are among the strongest people I know never letting gender “norms” dictate what they did or who they are. My father is one of the kindest, most honest and excepting people you will meet. In growing amongst these people I absorbed much of these qualities.

When I was young my parents told me I could do what ever I put my mind to and I believed them. I wanted to be an anthropologist…and now I am. While there were periods of struggle (only making me appreciate what I now have all the more) I have had some amazing experiences too. I have lived and worked with the Bedouin Nomads of the Al Naqab (Arabic half of the Negev) desert and explored the Middle East. I have worked at a Human Rights NGO in Bangkok Thailand where I conducted research on racism and discrimination in the region and represented the NGO at the UN. I got to work with aboriginal teens on North Vancouver Island guiding them through their education. I worked with numerous respected anthropologists at UBC to complete my graduate degree with an award winning thesis on national production in Thailand. Now I am teaching anthropology at local college and everyday I get to go to work with a smile on my face and feel good nearly every day (dealing with the political side of academia can been frustrating) as I see the “ahh haaa” moments in/on my students faces.

When I was young, my dad introduced me to martial arts films and I fell in love with Kung Fu. Even though I did not start until my early 20’s I have had the honor of training with some amazing masters/instructors since then. The highlight was training with and becoming the final assistant instructor of one of the most established grandmasters in Vancouver. Just as with anthropology, every time I teach and see the “ahhh moments” as students learn a new technique the passion for what I do is strengthened

My passion for martial arts, anthropology and education play into my personality traits. I am highly creative, empathetic, sincere, honest, loyal, often lost in the clouds contemplating/analyzing. Since I was 19 most of my nicknames have had something to do with bears (the aforementioned grand master used to call me Po (kung fu Panda) because I am big and strong yet athletic. I am at my best when I am challenged and have something to focus on. I love to talk and tell stories but most of my friends will say I am a great listener too

What then am I look for? I suppose you could say I am looking for an androgynous relationship where things are not done because they meet societies expectation of our gender identity, but because they need to be done, because you or I are better at doing them, or you or I want to do them. I cannot fix a car, but I can fix a nice meal. It would be nice if initiation was shared and communication was clear. In this I think we can find mutual enjoyment in the physical and emotional levels of a relationship

Disclaimer: As much as I love out-door adventures and intense physical activity I have been going to physio therapy for a year and am nearly recovered from a neck/back injury that limited my mobility for an extended period. What this means is now I have to rebuild my endurance....so I am more than happy to go on hikes, bike rides, kayak, ect....but I will be slowish and probably huffing and puffing.
What I’m doing with my life
I get paid to do something I never knew I was always in love with. I was recently tenure tracked as an anthropology instructor at a local college. I am energized by my students "ahhhh haaa" moments and marvel at the fact that I make a comfortable living doing something I truly enjoy (I just finished paying off my student loan and am now debt free).
I have trained in traditional Chinese martial arts for 15 years and am qualified to teach Wing Chun Kung Fu (watch "Ip Man" on netflix for an example...my instructors instructor was one of Bruce Lee's instructors).....again with the love for ahhh haaaa moments
I love to write both fiction and none fiction...as time allows and have long dreamt of writing a book.
While I am proud of these accomplishments and regret nothing as it got me to where I am, now it is time for some romance.
I’m really good at
cooking (I love experimenting and inventing dishes), writing (though not spelling or grammer), teaching, swimming, martial arts (Wing Chun and Maui Thai), mountain biking, empithizing, imagining/creativity and critical thinking.
The first things people usually notice about me
based on what people have told me, I would have to say my eyes and my shoulders
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Anarchy Evolution, Population Wars, All 3 Hunger Games, The order of Things, Discipline and Punish, Negara, Imagined Communities and most anything by Alan Dean Foster and Orson Scott Card (though not his politics)

Movies: What Dreams May Come, Bullworth, The Man from Earth, Life as a House, Finding Forester, Love Actually, August Rush, The Beautiful Boxer, Pump up the Volume, Ruby Sparks, American History X, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, The Sensei, The Zero Theorem (and most Terry Gilliam Films), and I love Sci-Fi films

TV Shows: Dr. Who, Torchwood, The big bang theory, Bones, Shameless (UK and US versions), Sugar Rush, Red Dwarf, Castle, The Almighty Johnsons, Luther, The Newsroom, Sense8, Outrageous Fortune, Z Nation, and anything by Joss Wheadon.

You put Neil Degrasse Tyson in anything and I will watch it or listen to it. The passion and joy with which he explains anything or debates anything is infectious

Music: Radiohead, Bad Religion, Nine Inch Nails, Louis Armstrong, NOFX, Kidneythieves, Nina Simone, Tool/A Perfect Circle and anything with Tom Morello in it .

Food: Chocolate and Curry
The six things I could never do without
time to write, chocolate, curry, martial arts, mountain bike, music
I spend a lot of time thinking about
social issues, inequality, writing, teaching, martial arts....what to make for dinner....and more recently to what degree does enculturation vs. biology influence our gender roles/behavior, especially within the context of relationships.
On a typical Friday night I am
Save for times I am in class lecturing my schedule is pretty flexible (as long as I get my work done)....but on Friday like days there is no typical...so short of writing and essay I can't really say...but I am flexible
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Perhaps it is a result of cultural upbringing, or academic research/experience, but I am far more comfortable discussing uncomfortable topics such as sex/sexuality than most. However, I am aware of the fact for many it is a sensitive topic and thus may appear shy at first until I understand the other person's comfort levels.
You should message me if
you are a nice person looking for a nice person and you are NOT super judgmental of others, arrogant or want to make me feel bad for every horrible thing (some) men have done to women (I already do)......trust me I know better than most.....discrimination and oppression are very common and important topics in my field/career and countering discrimination and oppression are the reasons I chose my field/career. Furthermore, with my aunts, grandmother and mother...seeing women as anything other than equals was never really an option...so I am sorry, but it was not me.

you also understand that tone of voice can not be heard or facial expression cannot be seen on OKC and thus on line sarcasm before getting to know each other may not succeed.

You live in Vancouver