ValliantLady
33 Redwood City, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
ValliantLady
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm SUPER AWKWARD on dates. This comes as a surprise to people who know me, because I genuinely like to talk to people. OKC is helping me to deal with this. I'm also a bit busy with a job change, so if I don't respond to anything it's because I'm very very preoccupied.

I like to travel, read, draw/paint digitally, play games (boardgames and rpgs, mostly), watch movies and generally enjoy my life. Before moving to the Bay Area I was an English Teacher in South Korea for a couple of years. I love to travel and experience new things, but am also comfortable being a homebody.

A major focus in my life is deciding to never miss out on anything I feel that I'll regret later. I'm a perpetual optimist and am so good at looking for the positive that I can literally talk myself out of a bad mood most days.
What I’m doing with my life
I work in the mobile social game industry. I love my job and my co-workers; virtually every day is fun and interesting. I'm also enjoying exploring the Bay Area, and planning on traveling somewhere cool in the next year. I'm getting geared to work on some personal art projects (paintings, comics) since I haven't been producing much personal art recently.
I’m really good at
Art! Reading! Watching movies with extremely low expectations and sufficient suspension of disbelief that ensures I enjoy most movies (even the ones I probably shouldn't). I'm also pretty good at writing - not fantastic, but okay.
The first things people usually notice about me
Uh... depending on the situation, how happy I am? Which is a feat, considering my default expression is kind of sad/worried looking. Physically probably the color of my (currently red) hair.

Also, according to my co-workers I'm sometimes snarky. >:D
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Ender's Game, Tinker (Wen Spencer), the Hollows books from Kim Harrison, the Dresden Files from Jim Butcher. (currently)

Movies: good god, too many to name. Generally sci-fi, fantasy, and super-hero movies, but anything particularly well written is good. Sometimes I want a thoughtful and quirky tale of a family driving cross-country. Sometimes I want a movie that substitutes strings of explosions where plot would normally be.

Shows: Dr. Who, Fringe, Game of Thrones, Downton Abbey, The Daily Show, The Colbert Report... I'll think of more later. Mythbusters, and sometimes Top Gear (though I haven't watched in a while).

Music: generally alternative, rock and dance(ish). I'm not super anti-anything, but rarely find myself listening to rap or country.

Food: ethnic. Thai, Japanese, Italian, Taiwanese, German... nom nom nom... Not to say that a good burger isn't delicious as well.
The six things I could never do without
1. Family. My family, while mostly in another state, is very close and we always have a ton of fun when we get together.
2. My friends - I used to be a pretty quiet, solitary person, but a string of awesome and very active friends slowly changed that. Now I'm pretty active myself, but I still like my chill-out days.
3. My kindle app, loaded with books.
4. A decent coffee shop to chill out at from time to time.
5. My music. I literally panic when I realize I'll have a long commute without some form of musical entertainment.
6. Movies/tv/comics. I really enjoy storytelling in all of its forms.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The universe and how awesome and uncharted it is. Humans, and how we work (I usually cheer up by watching a good TED talk). How crazy life can be and how lucky I am to have the life, family and friends that I have. Also, interesting stories~
On a typical Friday night I am
Probably at a movie with friends, or possibly drinking/karaokeing with co-workers. Or possibly sleeping.
More