66Scotts Valley, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
As far as my self-summary -- well, it's the modern-day equivalent of putting a message in a bottle and tossing it into the waves -- not your usual idea of a way to meet someone -- but I may not be your usual idea of someone you wanted to meet. It's true I said I was bisexual, but sex is not the big deal, necessarily. If my entry on this site results in finding a friend who likes going to movies, or eating at interesting restaurants while discussing nerdy topics, then I'll be completely ecstatic.

Nerdy is probably an appropriate term for me - I am probably what was once called an "intellectual". I'm an engineer and love knowledge, art, technology, and anything either beautiful or interesting. I'm an introvert, and tend to be quiet and a good listener, but can become excited about subjects which interest me. I'm honest, affectionate, and more loyal and cuddly than a Golden Retriever. I should also say, that I was born into the opposite gender - I'm a MTF trans woman - but these days, that's just not the most interesting thing about me, because I've been my true self for over 23 years now. I'm not entirely "out" in the sense that i don't tell everyone I met that i was born "M". This is not because I am overly concerned about secrecy, but just because the information is personal and is the kind of thing people like to gossip about. Or at least they used to - times are changing, I guess, and I'm no longer particularly unusual, it would seem.

I have fallen in love with persons of all gender permutations. I can be perfectly happy in a relationship with no sex at all, but my link to my partner must be intimate and profound. In my experience, anyone I meet might become my friend, any friend could become a lover, or any lover end up a lifelong friend. I move a little slowly in getting to know someone -- you will need to be perhaps a little patient.

In lieu of a photo, let me describe myself. I am 5'11", 172 pounds. My measurements are about 43-37-42, which is close to dress sizes 16-18. (bust 38DD-38C depending on style). My hair and eyes are dark blonde and hazel respectively. My health is generally good. I tend to dress in casual "hippy style" dresses with sandals for work or ordinary days, and jeans for active days. Some days I may use a little makeup, other days not.

I'm not a follower of astrology, but here are my signs, if someone is interested. This is from Sun in Capricorn: She is honest, reserved, circumspect, honorable and strong-willed. Quietly ambitious within the realms of the possible, she likes and takes on responsibility. She can work in the social domain.
Moon in Cancer: She is likeable and sociable. Very sensitive to environmental conditions and surroundings. She likes home, habits, comfort and her little world. Large families.
Mercury in Capricorn: Reflective, deep thinker: a fine and vivacious mind. Undertakes lengthy studies or, if circumstances do not allow, will teach herself. A rational person.
Venus in Capricorn: Loves are sincere. She is basically attracted to those with problems, which complicates life because she takes on those people's problems. Her feelings are deep, stable, solid, definite. She is not very expansive and can be melancholic.
Mars in Aquarius: She uses her aggressiveness in a social battle for freedom, or independence or adventure, but always linked to society. Likes adventure, independence. Disturbances, changes, upsets.
Jupiter in Pisces: Strength, tenderness, devotion, charity, pity.
Saturn in Libra: Recognized for her seriousness, moral qualities. She is respectable, conscientious.
Uranus in Cancer: She is impressionable, ticklish and excitable.
Neptune in Libra: Likes the Arts, music, beautiful voices, poetry. Emotional, with fine feelings.
Pluto in Leo: Gives her all her strength.

Send me a message, but keep in mind that cut-and-paste messages which do not seem to be meant for me personally or which imply that you've not read all of my personal profile will probably be ignored -- women here get spammy messages sometimes.
What I’m doing with my life
I'll retitle this essay "random data about me".
(1) The pull down menu for "pets" seems to only admit the existence of dogs and cats. Well, I love dogs and cats, but I have a bird. He's a 3 year old Solomon Island Eclectus, a medium sized green parrot. He talks to me a lot. He says he loves me, but since he says that to everyone he meets, I have to assume he's not necessarily sincere. :-)
(2) I'm a violin student, level 4. That's sort of the "advanced beginner" level. I enjoy learning a lot of things for violin, including classical and traditional.
(3) Learning to read, write, and speak Japanese -- just to keep my mind active. Watashi wa nihongo wo hanasu jouzu ja nai, sumimasen. ("I'm not good at speaking Japanese, sorry.")
I’m really good at
I'm a bit of a tinkerer. I have a little electronics workshop where I fix or make things sometimes.
The first things people usually notice about me probably that I'm a little shy on first meeting. I try to make up for it by being chatty.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I am a classical music fan, and usually subscribe to both our nearby county symphonies (Santa Cruz, Monterey). If you become my friend, you will probably get lots of invites to concerts. I also love a variety of other music, from classic rock to Irish traditional.
I enjoy all kinds of movies - those with and without explosions, in English or subtitled, live or animation.
I'm not too particular about food, but I'm doing a vegetarian-plus-seafood diet lately, with room to compromise.
Six things I could never do without
Family, companionship, intellectually stimulating activities, music, nature, and of course, love.
I spend a lot of time thinking about to finish this sentence.
On a typical Friday night I am the movies with friends.
...having a quiet dinner with a friend. my daughter's house, hanging out with my family.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit a bit of an oxymoron of a title, don't you think? After all, if I admit something publicly, it's not private anymore, is it?
You should message me if
(1) You have read my entire profile all the way through, and (2) would sincerely like to exchange a message or two, and (3) you don't mind intelligent women, and (4) you are within a day's drive of the San Francisco Bay Area. You MUST mention something you read in my profile to get my attention - otherwise, I will assume you are "trolling" and have no special interest in me personally.
The two of us