63 Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am self sufficient and independent, and would do best with someone who does not need a relationship, but who wants one, a person that I can just appreciate on her own as a woman. There is a lot that goes into that, but basically, I do not want another person to feel that they have to fulfill a specific role for me and vice versa.

I am not so concerned about sharing interests--I already know what interests me, so I am more interested in learning from you. I am more interested in your personal style and the "chemistry" (an elusive term) of the relationship-if that is right, then almost everything is fun. I am not as concerned with what someone thinks as I am with whether or not they have stopped thinking.

Maintaining a high level of physical fitness is part of who I am, and regardless of how you do it, I value the same in you. Style is very important to the extent that it is not superficial and genuinely reflects who you are. I also greatly appreciate good communication skills and a love of words. I look for humour wherever possible, and try to make even the routine interactions of life as much fun as possible.

I am a professional with my own client based business and I am curious by nature with a wide range of interests. I generally derive some value from most activities--how something is done is generally more important to me than the precise activity.

In terms of fun things to do with another person, travel is near the top. I like to hike (bike as well) and scuba dive when I can get away. In general, I am up for doing things outdoors on land, mountains or water. In addition to travel, my primary hobbies are cooking and listening to jazz. I have an old sports car that I like to work on and drive when the weather is nice, and I hope that you would enjoy the top down on a nice day. I also enjoy just being out and about in places that I find interesting (NYC!) but there is nothing like the ocean.

I am a transplant from DC and still have to return there frequently on business, but I am much happier in Manhattan, where I have always wanted to live. In general, I am open to other locations.
What I’m doing with my life
Focusing on personal and professional activities where there is always something to learn, living with an open heart and just being out there picking up the small change as well as the big bills. I honestly believe that I have shed any baggage that would remotely weigh on the spirit of anyone else.

Working hard to achieve a high level of physical and mental fitness. My basic fitness pillars are functional training combined with yoga and boxing. The three disciplines integrate much better than one might think.
I’m really good at
Taking care of "people/things" whether they are daughters, nieces, friends, employees, collies, old cars, old houses, gardens, antique copper cookware etc.-- I do, however, avoid taking care of anyone/anything where the only reward is more of the same.

Expressing, either in writing or orally, complex concepts, thoughts or feelings in a way that makes them accessible to a wide range of audiences, using as much humour as is appropriate to the situation.
The first things people usually notice about me
No one has ever said, and I never think to ask.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I enjoy a wide range in all categories, but here are some examples--Movies: Casablanca, Animal House, Gaslight, the Thin Man series. Books: the Patrick O'Brien novels, de Tocqueville, Hobbes, Harry Potter, David McCullough, Peter Massie, Churchill, Richard Halliburton and Hemingway. Music: Most genres of jazz, particularly female vocalists, 60's soul music, particularly Stax, 50's, 60's and early 70's rock in general. Food: it is hard to rule out any fresh, well prepared food-- if I had to pick, I would choose grilled seafood/grass fed meats.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Traveling and where I ultimately want to live--probably not just one place.
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing as much as I can, hopefully somewhere else for the weekend with you, but at a minimum, unwinding at the bar of a favorite restaurant, generally on the lower west side.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Is not going to appear here, as I am extremely private by nature. If we are in a relationship, and you want to know something, I am more than happy to tell you.
You should message me if
You are direct, honest, open minded, have accurate/recent pictures (please!), and are willing to meet sooner rather than later--it is in theory why we are here and it is really the only way to see how someone makes you feel--plus it avoids wasting time.