WSide777
66 Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
WSide777
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am an accomplished journalist and Ivy League graduate who has worked for all the major New York City newspapers over a 40-year career. I still work part-time for one of them.
What I’m doing with my life
After working like a dog for decades, and having raised two grown sons with a wife who had a successful career in advertising, I am comfortably semi-retired, enjoy not having to punch the clock every day, and love living on the Upper West Side of New York City.

In the past year, I have gone through a wrenching but ultimately positive transition that includes selling a big apartment on the Upper West Side, placing my wife—who is in her 10th year with early-onset Alzheimers disease—in a new setting where she receives round-the-clock care, and renting a new place near her with my younger son where i can enjoy life again without as many constraints. (This involved culling and pitching a lot of accumulated junk while also keeping—not hoarding!—a smaller number of prized possessions.)

I adore many of Gotham’s myriad cultural and architectural attractions and couldn't imagine living anyplace else. I especially enjoy bumping into people I have gotten to know over the years, whether randomly on Broadway or sitting down casually over breakfast lunch or dinner.

I belong to a book club and recently enjoyed “The Art of Fielding,” “The Goldfinch,” and “All the Light We Cannot See.” My favorite movies of the past decade include “Zodiac,” “A Prophet” and “Wild Tales,” while my all-time favorites include “The Third Man,” “Laura,” “Sweet Smell of Success,” and “That Man from Rio.”

At this stage of life, I am not really looking for adventure travel, fancy parties, lots of drinking or even romantic walks on the beach. I am hoping to find someone else who has her own set of interests and accomplishments, and is comfortable in her own skin.

A lively wit and physical attraction would definitely be nice. Someone who would enjoy low-key companionship and just hanging out, going to movies at the Film Forum or binge watching Netflix or the football playoffs and lots of other stuff in between. Someone who is probably more sensible than wild and crazy. But still with a spark!

I confess I don’t know exactly what I am looking for in terms of a relationship. But I am really looking forward to this new chapter of enjoying life. And hoping to meet someone who could help make life even better.
I’m really good at
Admin!
The first things people usually notice about me
Good hair? Probably my sense of humor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
TV: Miami Vice. Music: Jay and the Americans, Loverboy, Electric Light Orchestra. Movies: Laura, The Third Man, Zodiac. Books: 'American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer.' Broadway: 'Guys and Dolls,' 'Carousel.' Food: Steak au Poivre at Bistro Citron.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I never really liked 'Mad Men'
More